Detours: Poetics of the City


Detours is designed and directed by Taien Ng-Chan, who also contributes two maps: City Transit, video-poems and stories about riding the bus and metro, and Streets of the Saints, a playful melding of geography, hagiography and poetry (with the help of Byzantine iconographer Adrian Gorea). Excerpts from Lance Blomgren's Walkups are mapped out to Gord Allen's sound explorations, finding stories and absurdities in the lives and dwellings of Montrealers. For City Ditties, Samuel Thulin creates mobile media music, using only sounds recorded on-site, and creating them on-site as well, on an iPhone. Emilie O'Brien's Field Notes invokes Maguire Meadows, aka Le champ des possibles, with embroidery, textworks, images, and an interview with the creator of the Roerich Garden project. Donna Akrey maps the Desirelines that she encounters in her travels through the city – those paths made by people pursuing the shortest distance between two points.

The works presented here are optimally viewed or listened to in the places that inspired them, though they also beckon to the armchair tourist. Detours is meant to be a mobile media project, accessible through tablet computers and smart phones; but for the moment, it is optimized for the iPad or the web (headphones recommended).

CREDITS
Detours: Poetics of the City was produced by Taien Ng-Chan and Agence TOPO.

Agence TOPO
Chair and Administrator: Michel Lefebvre
Coordinator General: Marc Fournel
Assistant Coordinator: Éric Paillé
Multimedia Director: Vincent Archambault
Intern: Jouvens Bienvenue

Taien Ng-Chan would like to thank Agence TOPO for their support of this project, and to all her collaborators for their wonderful work. And thank you to Joe Ollmann and Samuel Ollmann-Chan, as always.
Agence TOPO would like to thank the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the City of Montreal, and the Society for Arts and Technology for their support.
Artists' Bios


Director/curator

Taien Ng-Chan is a writer and media artist who investigates the poetics of everyday urban life through experimental cinema and cartography. Her works include a poetry book/multimedia CD entitled Maps of Our Bodies and the Borders We Have Agreed Upon, and two anthologies, Ribsauce and Navigating Customs. She has written drama for stage, screen, and radio, and her videos have been shown across Canada, in the US, Korea, Sweden, and the UK. Her short film The Red Ribbon won the Location Michel Trudel Award at Concordia University, where she received her MFA, and where she is now pursuing her Ph.D. in the fields of Cinema and Urban Studies. For more info:
www.soyfish.net

Collaborators

Donna Akrey is an artist and teacher living in Montreal. Her work reflects her interest in the urban environment, language and communication, body and mind and the power of the habitual on our dreams and realities.

Gordon Neil Allen is a Montreal-based audio engineer and composer for film, theatre, and dance whose work has been part of performances across Canada and France. In 1998, while living in Toronto, he co-founded Technot, an organization committed to the presentation of live experimental electronic music. He had the pleasure of accompanying multimedia artist Renée Gagnon to the 2009 Festival d'Avignon for her presentation of "Project McQueen". Gordon trained in audio post-production and music production at The Banff Centre in Alberta.
www.musiquesanguine.com.

Lance Blomgren is a writer, curator and artist based in Vancouver and Dawson City.

Adrian Gorea is a Ph.D. student in the Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program in Humanities at Concordia University, combining studies in Visual Arts, Art History, and Theology. Adrian considers popular culture in relation to the artistic methods of Eastern Orthodox icon painting, in order to propose a mode of critical inquiry that challenges the corporate aesthetics of commodities. His practice as a Byzantine iconographer in Romania, where he painted religious murals and icons for several churches, led him to argue that an icon could be a valid subject matter for contemporary art, despite the fact that artists, for the most part, have shied away from religious art. Adrian's work has been exhibited in Europe, Canada, and United States.
www.adriangorea.com

Emilie O'Brien is a Montreal-based artist. Through slow and often improvisational processes she creates text works, paintings, sculptures and video work. These projects respond to and often meditate upon fragmentation and the multi-faceted whole, with an emphasis on connection, or a disconnection, of these parts. Since graduating from Emily Carr Institute of Art & Design in Vancouver BC, Emilie has participated in exhibitions and projects on a local, national and international scale. With her partner Billy, Emilie runs Monastiraki Gallery, a curated boutique of curiosities and art in Montreal.
http://emilieobrien.com

Samuel Thulin is a musician, researcher, and media artist living in Montreal. His work is concerned with concepts of mobility and place, as well as the history of media and technology. He is a member of the Mobile Media Lab and PhD candidate in the Communication Studies department at Concordia University.
Contact: samuel_thulin(at)yahoo.ca

Élizabeth Robert is a literary translator, member of LTAC, who specializes in poetry and Spoken Word. She holds a Bachelor of translation studies from Concordia University and has signed several translations of poetry with various Canadian and European publishers. As a full member of The League of Canadian Poets, Éliz Robert performs her own creations in French, English and Spanish. She has presented and performed her work in Canada, Europe, USA and South America.
www.elizabethrobert.ca
 
START – Go to the bus stop at Ave. du Parc / Ave. Van Horne (West side of Parc)
Take the next bus: #80 South OR #435 South (rush hour only)
When on the bus, press Play.
(1. The Narrator. 0:41min)
sda
Ave. du Parc / St-Viateur
When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(2. Familiar Strangers.0:42min)
Ave. du Parc / Ave. Fairmount
When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(3. Beatrice. 1:43min)
Ave. du Parc / Villeneuve When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(4. Burt.4:03min)
Ave. du Parc at Rachel (at the angel).
When the bus reaches the Angel (the George-Étienne Cartier Monument), press play.
(5. Soap Opera.1:57min)
Ave. du Parc at Ave. des Pins W. When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(6. In the Park. 1:09min)
Ave. du Parc at Rue Prince Arthur W.
When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(7. Beatrice Dines Out. 1:50min)
Ave. du Parc at Rue Sherbrooke W.
When the bus reaches this intersection, press play.
(8. Distress. 1:30min)
Ave. du Parc at Blvd. de Maisonneuve W. (Place-des-arts Metro) -> transfer
When the bus reaches the Place-des-arts Metro, exit the 80/535 bus.
Descend into the Place-des-arts Metro.
Take the Green Line, direction Honore-Beaugrand.
When you are in the metro car, press play.
(9. Underground. 0:49min)
Metro Berri-UQAM -> transfer
When you reach Metro Berri-UQAM, transfer to the Orange Line, direction Montmorency.
When you are in the metro car, press play.
(10. The Last Time. 0:47min)
Metro Mont Royal
When your metro car reaches Metro Mont Royal, exit and ascend.
When you are standing in Square Gerald-Godin, press play.
(11. Surfacing. 1:55min)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
City Transit
by Taien Ng-Chan

You are invited to watch a story about familiar strangers unfold as you are surrounded by strangers in the non-place of the bus and metro. What happens in other people's lives, and how are we responsible for one another?
To take the 80 du Parc transit tour, go to the starting place indicated at Avenue du Parc and Avenue Van Horne. When you are ready, click "start."  The first clip will begin to play. There are eleven clips in total for this story, each meant to be watched in a different location. There will be further instructions following each clip.
You can also explore the bus & metro poems, which can be played in no particular order. Click on "both" to see all the video locations. Full credits below:
Written and directed by Taien Ng-Chan, with Monique Phillips as Beatrice and Matthew Forbes as Bert.  Music by Gordon Neil Allen. Photography: Taien Ng-Chan, Emily Pelstring, Vincent Lafrance
Girl Talking Loudly on Cellphone: Elizabeth Ollmann
Children: Georgina Devlin, Woody Devlin, Milo Sircom-Brown, Gus Sircom-Brown
Strangers: Martin Duckworth, Sienna Hanshaw, Emily Keenlyside, Anna Jane mcIntyre
Voice Extras: Jenny Alexandra Blando, Mohamad Farhat
Art Direction/Set Design/Costumes: Anouk L'Heureux
Additional Set Design & Trees: Anna Jane McIntyre
1st Assistant Director: Hessa Pereidis
Assistant Camera: Ameesha Joshi. Gaffer: Vincent Lafrance. Grip: Marco Luna. Sound Recorder: Philippe McKie. Production Assistant: Anurag Dhir. Sound Mix: Tim Horlor. Make-up/Hair: Judy Wong.
Thanks to the Société de transport de Montreal, Marielle Nitoslawska, Marcus von Holtzendorff, Liane Keightley, Arts Café, the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema at Concordia University.

Détours: Poétiques de la ville


Détours est conçu et dirigé par Taien Ng-Chan, qui a également contribué à deux cartes : Passages de ville, les poèmes en vidéos et une histoire sur des étrangers familiers que l'on voit en autobus; Les rues des saints, une joyeuse fusion de géographie, hagiographie et poésie (avec le soutien de l'iconographe byzantin Adrian Gorea). Des extraits tirés du recueil de Lance Blomgren, Walkups: scènes de la vie Montréalaise, ont été cartographiés à les explorations du sons de Gordon Neil Allen, au travers d'histoires et absurdités de la vie dans les logements de certains montréalais. Dans Les chansonettes de ville, Samuel Thulin crée de la musique mobile en utilisant uniquement des sons qu'il enregistre sur place, et en les créant également sur place, tout cela grâce à un iPhone. Notes de terrain d'Emilie O'Brien invoque Maguire Meadows, soit Le champ des possibles, avec des broderies, des textworks, images, et une entrevue avec la créatrice du projet Jardin Roerich. Donna Akrey a cartographié Les lignes du désir qu'elle rencontre au cours de ses pérégrinations à travers la ville – ces chemins tracés par les gens qui couvrent les plus courtes distances entre deux points.

Les œuvres présentées ici ont été optimisées pour la visualisation et l'écoute sur les lieux qui ont inspirés leur création, bien qu'ils fassent également signe au touriste de salon d'entrer dans son univers. Détours se veut un projet média mobile, accessible via les tablettes informatiques et les téléphones intelligents; mais pour le moment, il est optimisé pour le iPad ou le Web (les écouteurs recommandé).

CRÉDITS
Détours : Poétiques de la ville a été produit par Taien Ng-Chan et l'Agence TOPO.

Agence TOPO
Président et administrateur délégué : Michel Lefebvre
Coordonnateur général : Marc Fournel
Adjoint à la coordination : Éric Paillé
Réalisateur multimédia : Vincent Archambault
Stagiaire : Jouvens Bienvenue

Taien Ng-Chan voudrais remercier l'Agence TOPO pour leur soutien à ce projet, et à tous ses collaborateurs pour leur merveilleux travail. Et merci à Joe Ollmann et Samuel Ollmann-Chan, comme toujours.
Agence TOPO voudrait remercier pour leur soutien le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, Ville de Montréal, and Société des arts technologiques.
Bios des artistes


Réalisatrice/commissaire

Taien Ng-Chan est écrivaine et artiste médiatique. Elle étudie la poétique du quotidien en milieu urbain par le cinéma expérimental et la cartographie. Elle a publié un livre/cd multimédia Maps of Our Bodies and the Borders We Have Agreed Upon, ainsi que deux anthologies, Ribsauce et Navigating Customs. Taien a écrit pour le théâtre, la télévision, la radio. Ses vidéos ont été présentées au Canada, aux Etats-Unis, en Corée, en Suède et en Grande-Bretagne. Son court-métrage The Red Ribbon a remporté le prix Location Michel Trudel de l'Université Concordia où Taien a obtenu son MFA, et où elle termine un Doctorat en cinéma et études urbaines. Pour en savoir plus :
www.soyfish.net

Collaborateurs

Donna Akrey est une artiste et enseignante vivant à Montréal. Son travail reflète son intérêt pour l'environnement urbain, la langue et la communication, le corps et l'esprit et la puissance de l' habituelle sur nos rêves et réalités.

Gordon Neil Allen vit à Montréal et est ingénieur de son et compositeur pour les films, le théâtre et la danse. Son travail a été présenté dans le cadre de productions d'un bout à l'autre du Canada et en France. En 1998, alors qu'il habitait Toronto, il a co-fondé Technot, un organisme voué à la présentation de musique électronique expérimentale en direct. Il a eu le plaisir d'accompagné l'artiste multimedia Renée Gagnon au Festival d'Avignon 2009 dans le cadre de la présentation de son « Project McQueen ». Gordon a étudié la post-production audio et la production musicale au Centre des arts de Banff en Alberta.
www.musiquesanguine.com.

Lance Blomgren est un écrivain, conservateur et artiste qui partage sa vie entre Vancouver et Dawson City.

Adrian Gorea est étudiant au Doctorat interdisciplinaire des Sciences humaines de l'Université Concordia. Il étudie à la fois l'art visuel, l'histoire de l'art et la théologie. Adrian examine la culture populaire en relation avec les méthodes artistiques utilisée dans la peinture des icones par les occidentaux orthodoxes afin de proposer une critique qui conteste l'esthétique marchande d'une société. Sa pratique de l'iconographie byzantine en Roumanie, où il a peint des murales religieuses et des icones pour diverses églises, l'a amené à défendre qu'un icône puisse s'avérer un sujet d'art contemporain valide, malgré le fait que la majorité des artistes aient fui l'art religieux. Les œuvres d'Adrian ont été présentées en Europe, au Canada et aux Etats-Unis.
www.adriangorea.com

Emilie O'Brien est artiste et vit à Montréal. Elle crée, par des procédés lents et souvent improvisés, des œuvres textuelles, des peintures, des sculptures et de la vidéo. Ses projets examinent et méditent souvent sur la fragmentation et les multiples facettes d'un tout, marquant la connexion ou déconnexion de ses pièces. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de la Emily Carr Institute of Art & Design de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique, Emilie a participé à des expositions et des projets d'envergure locale, nationale et internationale. Emilie, de paire avec son conjoint Billy, dirige la Monastiraki Gallery, une boutique de curiosités et d'art de Montréal.
http://emilieobrien.com

Samuel Thulin est musicien, chercheur et artiste médiatique, il vit à Montréal. Son travail examine les concepts de mobilité et d'espace, ainsi que l'histoire des média et de la technologie. Il est membre du Mobile Media Lab et doctorant au département des Études de la communication de l'Université Concordia.
Contact: samuel_thulin(at)yahoo.ca

Élizabeth Robert est traductrice de poésie et Spoken Word, membre de l'ATTLC. Bachelière en spécialisation de traduction de l'Université Concordia, elle a signé plusieurs recueils de poésie en traduction auprès de éditeurs canadiens et européens. Membre titulaire de la League of Canadian Poets, Éliz Robert performe ses propres créations poétiques en français, anglais et espagnol. Ses œuvres ont été présentées au Canada, en Europe, aux États-Unis et en Amérique du Sud.
www.elizabethrobert.ca
 
DÉPART - Allez à l'arrêt d'autobus coin avenue du Parc et Avenue Van Horne (côté ouest sur Avenue du Parc)
Prenez le prochain autobus no 80 direction sud OU le no 435 direction sud (pendant les heures de pointe seulement).
Dans l'autobus, appuyez sur « Play ».
(1. La narratrice. 0:41min)
Ave. du Parc et St-Viateur
Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(2. Étrangers familiers.0:42min)
Ave. du Parc et Ave. Fairmount
Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(3. Béatrice. 1:43min)
Ave. du Parc et Villeneuve Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(4. Burt.4:03min)
Ave. du Parc et Rachel (à « l'ange »).
Lorsque l'autobus croise l'ange (le monument George-Étienne Cartier), appuyez sur « Play ».
(5. Roman-Savon.1:57min)
Ave. du Parc et Ave. des Pins W. Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(6. Dans le parc. 1:09min)
Ave. du Parc et Rue Prince Arthur W.
Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(7. Béatrice sort manger. 1:50min)
Ave. du Parc et Rue Sherbrooke W.
Lorsque l'autobus atteint cette intersection, appuyez sur « Play ».
(8. Détresse. 1:30min)
Avenue du Parc et boulevard de Maisonneuve Ouest (Métro Place-des-arts) – > Transfert
Lorsque l'autobus rejoind la station de métro Place-des-arts, descendez et entrez dans le métro. Prenez la ligne verte, direction Honoré-Beaugrand.
Lorsque vous êtes dans la voiture de métro, appuyez sur « Play ».
(9. Souterrain. 0:49min)
Métro Berri-UQAM - > transfert
Lorsque vous atteignez la station de métro Berri-UQAM, transferez à la ligne orange, direction Montmorency.
Lorsque vous êtes dans la voiture de métro, appuyez sur « Play ».
(10. Le dernière fois. 0:47min)
Métro Mont Royal
Lorsque votre voiture de métro atteint la station Mont-Royal, quittez-la et dirigez-vous vers la sortie en montant les escaliers.
Lorsque vous êtes débout sur la place Gérald-Godin, appuyez sur « Play ».
(11. Émerger. 1:55min)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Passages de ville
par Taien Ng-Chan

Vous êtes donc conviés à un tour en transport en commun. Observez la trame narrative que des étrangers tissent alors qu'ils vous entourent dans ce non-lieu qu'est l'autobus ou le métro. Que se passe-t-il dans la vie des autres et jusqu'à quel point sommes-nous responsable les uns des autres?
Pour faire le tour de l'itinéraire 80 du Parc, présentez-vous au lieu de départ indiqué, soit  à l'intersection de l'avenue du Parc et l'avenue Van Horne. Lorsque vous êtes prêt, cliquez sur « Start » ou « Démarrer » pour lancer le premier vidéoclip. Cet itinéraire comporte un total de 11 vidéoclips. Chacun est destiné à être visionné dans un endroit différent. D'autres indications suivront à la fin de chaque clip.
Vous pouvez également explorer les poèmes d'autobus et de métro, qui peuvent être visionnés sans suivre un ordre particulier. Cliquez sur « les deux » pour voir tous les lieux accompagnés d'un vidéoclip.
Écrit et dirigé par Taien Ng-Chan, avec Monique Phillips dans le rôle de Beatrice, Matthew Forbes et Bert. Musique : Gordon Neil Allen.

Crédits :
Photography: Taien Ng-Chan, Emily Pelstring, Vincent Lafrance
Girl Talking Loudly on Cellphone: Elizabeth Ollmann
Children: Georgina Devlin, Woody Devlin, Milo Sircom-Brown, Gus Sircom-Brown
Strangers: Martin Duckworth, Sienna Hanshaw, Emily Keenlyside, Anna Jane mcIntyre
Voice Extras: Jenny Alexandra Blando, Mohamad Farhat
Art Direction/Set Design/Costumes: Anouk L'Heureux
Additional Set Design & Trees: Anna Jane McIntyre
1st Assistant Director: Hessa Pereidis
Assistant Camera: Ameesha Joshi. Gaffer: Vincent Lafrance. Grip: Marco Luna. Sound Recorder: Philippe McKie. Production Assistant: Anurag Dhir. Sound Mix: Tim Horlor. Make-up/Hair: Judy Wong.
Thanks to the Société de transport de Montreal, Marielle Nitoslawska, Marcus von Holtzendorff, Liane Keightley, Arts Café, the Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema at Concordia University.