© Xavier Cahen, 1999

REALISATION

AUTHOR
Direction
Xavier Cahen

Images and animations
Xavier Cahen

Soundtrack
L'internationale (music box) and Xavier Cahen

Programming
Marc Bolard


PRODUCTION
Xavier Cahen, 1999
Direction des affaires culturelles de la ville de Paris
Sacem, Galerie Donguy
Original French Version/ Macintosh™ and Windows™

www.levels9.com


TO ORDER


• Fill the form and send your order by email.

• A confirmation will be sent to you by email.

• Your copy of the CD-Rom will be sent by snail mail along with the bill.

• You must settle your bill upon reception (cheque or postal order).

Macintosh™ and Windows™

Price in Canada :
55 $ CAN


As quoted in the definition : by metaphorical extension, one can call "tool" all means of thoughts.

What is more elementary for an artist than diverting the objects from their original function in order to reveal their poetic faces and transform our everyday routine into a space of reflexion about human condition.

The PC democratisation is an incontestable social mutation, which is sometimes inescapable. It is the same for artists. They are often marginalized from the system. I therefore purchased a computer with a similar spirit, full of benevolent curiosity and  unspeakable pressure. I thus completed the varied ranges of my tools I had acquired along the way.

I already called the computer "a work tool " since the world already labelled it so, and I gave it some space in my workshop. I was ready to use it. The complex technics of my computer, his broad potential and its immaterial information management troubled the builder craftsman in me. Facing these issues, I then opened my Encyclopædia Universalis, a quaint 1976 edition, and started reading the tool definition.

During my first reading, I was moved by the poetic aspect of the text. Each word echoed as an invitation to discover more definitions. Then, a float of images and daily events came and involuntarily jumble together. It was just as if they wanted to verify the exactness of the ideas developped by the definition of the tools.

A strong idea came up during the next readings: the use of the tool is depending on the user. If the tool is a mean to transform nature, as suggested by the definition, one has to decide about its orienttion. It was the same for me.

I started to explore the multiple and various facettes of my computer, slowly and laboriously. As stated by the definition from my Encyclopædia, " the mechanization way added the alienation of knowledge to the alienation of work.". I eventually discovered that I was using the " same tools " as the old ones used in the past, such as a saw to cut, to glue to open or to superimpose, but here, by using an immaterial source where the painter’s repentence is infinite and invisible.

 

EXPOSITION SAUVAGE
ART INTERACTIF
CD-ROM

Exposition Sauvage (Wild Exhibition) is a series of 12 multisupport images, each confronting a tool and a " collective " photography, a press photo together with an excerpt of this definition.

The reflection around the tools is the true backbone of the work. Its crosses the artist’s various fields of interest, such as art, his relation to the public, and naturally, the discovery of a new tool, here the computer.


Today this work exists in diverse forms. In the shape of twelve printed images which have been exhibited and distributed all along year 1988, in public places and art places, via Gallery Donguy, Paris, and also through postal mailing. During the whole duration of the exhibition, the images were also sent to more than a hundred persons every month .

Exposition Sauvage is also in the shape of a luminescent light and a sound file on the communication net, the Internet.The guest is able to reproduce these images by using his personal printer as a reproduction " workshop ".

The exhibition mode and the choice of the presentation place contribute to a significant complement to the general meaning of the images.

 

It is the very same idea as this source " without any materiality ", without any support, paradoxally, became soon the most exciting perspective of my tool. In fact, without the obligation to accomplish a frustrating and degrading metamorphosis of the work, as it could be for a painting vis à vis a photography of the same painting. It became easy to change the presentation, the size, the definition, without thinking that one of the version was the original, and the other was the copy of the work. The multiplication and the diversification of the presentation would then allow me to change the accessibility of my work, to amplify its encounter, and the circumstances of the encounter.


So Marcel Duchamp brought along art places a common object, his urinal, as an ironical emissary from the outsideworld. Since he presented it lying, he tried to change people from the art world’s point of view, in order for them to focalize on the world. So Robert Fillou stated that " art is what makes life more interesting than art ", it was still true that the existence of an " original " work of art would not allow a printout. With this new tool, I had no more reason to regard art places as the exclusive element of encounter and existence of my work.

This is when the concept of Wild Exhibition took place. It was a crossing point, and a meeting point of various interests, including everything uncertain involved in a meeting. I felt like taking advantage of the potential that my new tool was offering me, such as getting closer to you, without degrading the work, but simply by multipling it and diversifying its presentation mode, therefore diversifying its localisation. I felt like talking to you my way about this definition of the tools, because of its poetic and philosophical importance. It is standing at the heart of the creative process. It is true that what seems to differentiate a house painter from a painter (artist) is the way that each of them looks at his tools, sincer both of them are using the same tools.

At last, because this definition highlights the acknowledgement of dysfunction of our society, we are the actors.

Xavier Cahen
www.levels9.com

 

 
INFORMATION : www.AgenceTOPO.qc.ca
T (514) 279-8676 –

© Xavier Cahen, 1999

RÉALISATION

AUTEUR
Conception et réalisation : Xavier Cahen
Images et animations : Xavier Cahen

Bande sonore : L'internationale (music box) et Xavier Cahen
Programmation
Marc Bolard


PRODUCTION
Xavier Cahen, 1999
Direction des affaires culturelles de la ville de Paris
Sacem, Galerie Donguy


www.levels9.com

Version originale française— Macintosh™ et Windows™

POUR COMMANDER

Faites parvenir votre commande par courriel en remplissant le bon de commande.

• Une confirmation vous sera envoyée par courriel, avec un choix de modes de paiement.

• Votre copie du cédérom vous sera envoyée par la poste sur réception du paiement.

Disponible en versions
Macintosh™ et Windows™.

Coût au Canada :
55 $ CAN


On peut par extension métaphorique appeler outil tous les moyens de pensée.

Et quoi de plus élémentaire pour un artiste que de détourner de sa fonction tout objet afin d’en révéler son aspect poétique, de transformer notre quotidien en un espace de réflexion sur notre condition.

La démocratisation des ordinateurs personnels est une mutation sociale incontestable et parfois incontournable. Il en est de même pour les artistes, souvent considérés en marge du système social. C'est dans cet esprit de curiosité bienveillante et de pression indicible, que j'ai donc acheté un ordinateur, complétant ainsi la gamme variée de mes outils acquis au fil du temps. Je l'avais déjà nommé " outil de travail ", puisque le monde l'avait désigné ainsi et lui avais fait une place dans mon atelier et m'apprêtais à l'utiliser.

La complexité technique de mon ordinateur, son potentiel varié, et sa gestion immatérielle des informations troubla l'artisan constructeur que j’étais. Face à ces difficultés, j’ouvris mon Encyclopædia Universalis, une édition un peu vieillotte de 1976 et lus la définition de l'outil. A ma première lecture, je fus troublé par l'aspect poétique du texte, chaque mot résonnait comme une invitation à la découverte d'autres définitions. Puis, un flot d'images, d’événements quotidiens vint se télescoper involontairement comme pour vérifier la justesse des idées développées par cette définition des outils.

Aux lectures suivantes, une idée forte s’imposa : l’utilisation de l’outil dépend de son utilisateur. Si l'outil est un moyen de transformer la nature, comme le suggérait la définition, il fallait décider de son orientation. Il en était de même pour moi.

Lentement et laborieusement, j’explorais les facettes multiples et variées de mon ordinateur, et comme le dit la définition de mon encyclopédie “ la manière machiniste ajoutait à l'aliénation du travail celle du savoir.” Finalement, je découvris que j’utilisais les “ mêmes outils ” qu'auparavant tels que : la scie pour couper, coller, couvrir, ou superposer, mais ici avec une source immatérielle où le repentir du peintre est infini et invisible.

 

 

EXPOSITION SAUVAGE
INTERACTIVE ART
CD-ROM

Exposition Sauvage est une série de 12 images multi-supports confrontant un outil et une photo «collective», une photo de presse accompagnée d’un extrait de cette définition.

Aujourd'hui cette œuvre existe sous diverses formes. Celle de douze images imprimées ayant été exposées et distribuées tout au long de l'année 1998 dans des lieux publics de Paris,
dans un lieu d'art, la galerie Donguy, et finalement par envoi postal à plus d'une centaine de personnes chaque mois pendant toute la durée de l'exposition.

Exposition Sauvage existe aussi sous la forme d'une source luminescente et d’un fichier sonore sur le réseau de communication Internet. Le visiteur peut reproduire ces images en utilisant son imprimante personnelle comme un atelier de reproduction.

Le mode d'exposition et le choix du lieu de présentation sont un complément significatif au sens général de ces images.

 

C’est l’idée même de cette source sans matérialité, sans support, paradoxalement, qui devint rapidement la perspective la plus excitante de mon outil. En effet, sans effectuer une métamorphose frustrante et dégradée de l'œuvre comme peut l'être une peinture vis à vis de la photo de cette même peinture, il était facile de faire varier sa présentation, sa taille, sa définition, sans pour autant penser que l’une des versions était l’œuvre et l’autre la copie de l’œuvre. La multiplication et la diversification de présentation me permettaient donc de changer l'accessibilité de mon travail, d'augmenter sa rencontre et les circonstances de cette rencontre.


Ainsi si Marcel Duchamp avait amené dans les lieux d'art un objet usuel, son urinoir, ironique émissaire de l'extérieur, en le présentant couché, il avait tenté de changer le point de vue du monde artistique afin qu'il porte son attention sur le monde ; si Robert Filliou avait affirmé que “ l'art est ce qui rend la vie plus intéressante que l'art ”, il n’en restait pas moins que l’existence de l’œuvre d’art " unique " nous en interdisait la sortie. Avec ce nouvel outil, je n'avais plus aucune raison de considérer les lieux d'art comme l'élément exclusif de la rencontre et de l'existence de mon travail.

C'est à ce moment-là qu'est née l’idée d'Exposition Sauvage, comme un croisement, une rencontre de plusieurs intérêts avec ce qu’il peut y avoir d’aléatoire dans une rencontre. J’avais envie de profiter du potentiel que m’offrait mon nouvel outil, à savoir, me rapprocher de vous, sans dégrader l’œuvre, simplement en la multipliant et en diversifiant son mode de présentation et donc les lieux de sa présentation. J’avais envie de vous parler, à ma manière, de cette définition des outils, pour sa valeur poétique et philosophique, puisqu’elle est au cœur de l’acte créateur. En effet, ce qui semble distinguer un peintre en bâtiment d’un artiste peintre tient au regard que chacun d’eux portent sur ses outils, puisque tous deux utilisent les-mêmes. Enfin parce que cette définition souligne les constats de dysfonctionnement de notre société, dont nous sommes tous les acteurs.

Xavier Cahen
www.levels9.com

 

INFORMATION : www.AgenceTo.qc.ca
T (514) 279-8676 –