Information is available on social media and here:
Neoism40.home.blog


MOLOTOV COCKTAIL PARTY
6pm – 7pm – TOPO, 5445 de Gaspé, space 608

 

Screenings, talks, performances
Guest host: Charlotte Bonaparte

Tribute to the memory of Marton Krosznovski

 

TOPO welcomes the opening night of a series of events celebrating the 40th anniversary of Neoïsm, an artistis movement which emerged in Montreal in 1979 as part of the local new wave/punk rebellion and almost overnight erupted into an international conspiracy.

The idea was conceived by Istvan Kantor, a Hungarian refugee, freshly arrived to Montreal from Budapest via Paris. Kantor was joined by a bunch of young subversives and together they kicked out a series of street events and apartment festivals. Neoism spread like fire, and, throughout the 80s and 90s, from a minor local art movement it progressed into one of the largest anti-authoritarian communication networks around the world.

Étalé du 22 au 28 mais 2019, le programme prévoit une série d’actions et de performances de rencontres à TOPO le soir d’ouverture des célébrations, dans divers lieux comme La Plante, Sotterena, et dans la rue.

Held from May 22 to 28 2019, the program shapes as a series of actions, performances opening at TOPO on the evening of May 22, and in many other locations such as La Plante, Sotterena, as well as in the streets.

 

 

Sofian Audry

Sofian Audry creates computational artistic works through different forms such as robotics, electronics interventions, interactive installations, and internet art. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Computer Sciences and Mathematics (2001), a M. Sc. in Computer Science from the University of Montreal (machine learning and language modeling, 2003), an M.A. in Communications from UQAM (interactive media, 2010), and a Ph. D. in Humanities from Concordia University (2016).

 

Istvan Kantor

Istvan Kantor became interested in rebellion and radical artistic experiments at a young age, staging underground happenings, performances, and exhibitions under an Eastern Block dictatorship. Multidisciplinary artist, his practice includes media art, performance, installation, sound art, robotics, writing, and music. His video works have been recognized throughout the world, and have been presented at numerous festivals, including Documenta 8 (1987), the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen (1992), Transmedial, Berlin (2001), and Osnabruck European Media Arts Festival (2009). In 1998, Kantor received the Telefilm Canada award for best Canadian video; in 2004, he won the Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts—the highest accolade attributed in Canada to an artist in recognition of their contribution to the visual and media arts (biography written by Etienne Desrosiers).


Event Details

  • Date:
  • Venue: TOPO

Information disponible ici:

Neoism40.home.blog


MOLOTOV COCKTAIL PARTY
18h à 19h – TOPO, 5445 de Gaspé, espace 608

 

Projections, présentations, performances
Hôtesse invitée: Charlotte Bonaparte

Tribute to the memory of Marton Krosznovski

 

TOPO accueille la journée inaugurale d’une série d’événements célébrant le 40e anniversaire du Néoïsme, un mouvement artistique né à Montréal en 1979 d’une rébellion locale new wave/punk et s’est très rapidement propagé au niveau international.

Tout a commencé par une idée conçue par Istvan Kantor, un réfugié hongrois, fraîchement arrivé à Montréal après un court passage à Paris. Kantor a été rejoint par un groupe de jeunes à l’esprit subversif et ensemble ils ont organisé une série d’événements dans la rue et de “festivals d’appartement”. Si le Néoisme s’est répandu comme un feu de paille dans les années 80 et 90, il est parti d’un mouvement mineur local qui a pris de l’expansion jusqu’à devenir le plus grand réseau artistique anti-autoritaire au monde.

Étalé du 22 au 28 mais 2019, le programme prévoit une série d’actions et de performances de rencontres à TOPO le soir d’ouverture des célébrations, dans divers lieux comme La Plante, Sotterena, et dans la rue.

TOPO accueil cet événement avec plaisir pour témoigner de la reconnaissance du travail important en arts médiatique d’Istvan Kantor. Mais aussi, il s’agit de permettre de faire connaître des actions entreprises à une époque méconnue de l’histoire de l’art, celle de la scène underground des années 1980. TOPO prévoit d’autres activités de mise en valeur d’archives de cette époque dans l’année qui vient.

Istvan Kantor

Istvan Kantor s’intéresse très jeune aux expériences artistiques radicales et à la rébellion. Artiste multidisciplinaire, sa pratique comprend les arts médiatiques, la performance, la robotique, l’art audio, l’installation, l’écriture et la musique. Présentés à la Dokumenta 8 de Kassel, ses vidéos ont été récompensées dans le monde entier, entre autre au International Short Film Festival d’Oberhausen (1992), au Transmediale de Berlin (2001) et au Osnabruck Media Arts Festival (2009). Istvan Kantor a reçu le prix de Téléfilm Canada pour la meilleure vidéo canadienne (1998) et fut le Lauréat, en 2004, du Prix du Gouverneur général en art visuels et en arts médiatiques, la plus importante distinction au Canada attribué à un artiste émérite pour l’ensemble de son œuvre (biographie écrite par Etienne Desrosiers).


Sofian Audry

Sofian Audry crée des œuvres numériques se déployant sous différentes formes telles la robotique, l’intervention électronique, l’installation interactive et l’art web. Détenteur d’un baccalauréat en mathématique-informatique (2001) et d’une maîtrise en science informatique de l’Université de Montréal (apprentissage-machine et modélisation du langage, 2001) ainsi que d’une maîtrise en communication de l’UQÀM (médias interactifs, 2010), il a récemment complété un doctorat interdisciplinaire en Arts et Lettres (« Humanities ») à l’Université Concordia (2016).


Détails de l'événement