Fill the form

Deadline : 10 January 2021

TOPO, artist-run centre for digital arts, is launching a new call for submissions for projects for its 2021-23 programming. This series of on-site and online exhibitions during TOPO’s next season of activities, beginning in the fall of 2021, will take place under the theme of fluidity.

In an age of heightened changeability, the notion of fluidity will initiate abundant and open ideas about the impermanence of harmonies. Something fluid flows easily, without resistance, but it is also difficult to grasp and define. When events unfold smoothly they are fluid and clear; fluidity is reassuring because it is predictable and controlled, “flowing from the source.” But everything about stability is mere appearance, because stability is subject to a constant flow of dynamic interactions coming from every quarter.

The concept of fluidity has been employed by various disciplines (physics, sociology, economics, etc.) and most often embodies contrasting paradoxes. The Polish sociologist Zygmunt Bauman has long explored the corollary concept of “liquidity” to describe our lives and our cities, caught in constant fast-moving flows of perpetual movement and change. Although this fluidity is a threat to social structures, it is also an opportunity, because it is synonymous with flexibility. Fluid life bends out of shape to adapt to its environment, it is constantly recomposing its networks, it is open onto the outside . . .

Call for Submissions

TOPO is opening this call for submissions under two categories:

  1. Interactive media installations for our window display: a 12 sq. m. (125 sq. ft.) located in the hallway on the ground floor of the Pôle de Gaspé, home to commercial, cultural and artistic spaces, including nine artist-run dissemination and production centres. In this environment, the display window captures attention and prompts diverse responses to the way the space is used and how on-site activities are taking place.
  2. Web art: TOPO wishes to bridge its web DNA and contemporary artistic production by paying tribute to Internet culture. What, in a “post-everything” context, are the orientations visible in artworks created by, for and with the Internet today? The web artworks selected will be grouped together in series and promoted online on the TOPO website, accompanied by a text by a curator.

For its 2021-23 programming, TOPO is looking for proposals with social discourses and formal and narrative explorations which meet the challenge of integrating, physically or on-screen, text, images and sound. Proposals may include both an installation element and an online dimension to extend the experience in virtual space.

Special attention will be given to projects addressing the imaginaries of the Americas, including those from Indigenous communities.

The gallery and online projects can take different approaches to fluidity as new ways of being, with respect to both society and the individual and in the form of critiques or utopias. Whether they are interactive, generative or contemplative, or intended to shake things up, how do these artworks convey ideas about the features and nuances of fluidity and flow, and of their frontiers?

To give a few examples:

  • the Internet and its continuous transmutation;
  • new forms of celebrity;
  • variable identities;
  • mobility as a relational concern: connection or exclusion;
  • calling consumerism into question;
  • the socio-ecological transition;
  • open-source urbanism;
  • transformed nature;
  • the art of living with uncertainty.

For both the window display and the Web, completed projects or projects underway and demonstrating solid commitment on the part of the artist will be given preference.

The selection criteria take into account the relevance and feasibility of the proposed projects in the context identified. Artists must be in a position to carry out the production of their work and to maintain it throughout the exhibition. Web works must be compatible with the usual dissemination platforms.

In its analysis of submissions, the centre is attentive to the diverse forms of presenting and formulating practices arising out of artistic and cultural diversity.

Artists whose projects are selected will benefit from the following resources:

  • payment of a dissemination fee;
  • access to the centre’s computer and audiovisual equipment;
  • three days of technical support for mounting the project;
  • a dissemination event backed up by a promotional campaign.

In the case of artists residing away from Montreal, transportation and lodging costs must come out of a specific agreement or dedicated funding.

 

 

 

Plan of the space

Plan de la vitrine

Documents required :

1) Project and statement

— Description of an installation or web art project (2 pages max.)

— Description of the project’s technical needs (1 page max.)

— Artist’s statement (1 page max.)

— Curriculum vitae (3 pages max.)

These documents must be assembled in a single PDF (5 MB max.).

 

2) Visual documentation (maximum 12 documents)

— Images (JPG, GIF, PNG)

— Press clippings, if applicable (4 pages max.)

Visual documentation must be assembled in a single Zip file (15 MB max.).

 

3) Internet links and videos

Provide a maximum of three Internet links and their description in the submission form.

 

Please use the following standard for naming files, avoiding special characters and accents:

  • Project and statement : 2021-2023_TXT_ArtistName.pdf
  • Visual documentation : 2021-2023_VISUAL_ArtistName.zip

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS: 10 January 2021

 

Submission Form

If you have any questions or problems, please contact us at tech@agencetopo.qc.ca.

Your information

 

Your project

 

Website URLs and online documentation

    If applicable, enter the URLs of your websites or leading to online documentation (video, audio).

 
 
 

Wait for the confirmation page before leaving the form.
An email will also be sent to you.


Event Details

  • Date:

Soumettre votre dossier

 

Date limite : 10 janvier 2021

TOPO, centre d’artistes montréalais en arts numériques, lance un nouvel appel à projets hybride pour sa programmation 2021-2023. C’est sous le thème de la fluidité que TOPO envisage la série d’expositions, en galerie et en ligne, qui animera sa prochaine saison d’activités à partir de l’automne 2021.

À l’ère de la variabilité exacerbée, la notion de fluidité ouvre des réflexions riches et ouvertes sur l’impermanence des harmonies. Est fluide ce qui s’écoule aisément, sans résistance, mais aussi ce qui est difficile à saisir, à fixer. La fluidité désigne le bon déroulement d’un parcours, sa « limpidité »; elle devient rassurante parce que prévisible et contrôlée, « coulant de source ». Mais tout ce qui se présente dans la stabilité n’est qu’apparence, car celle-ci est soumise à des flux continus d’interactions dynamiques venant de tous côtés.

La notion de fluidité a été mobilisée par différentes disciplines (physique, sociologie, économie, etc.) et offre la plupart du temps des paradoxes contrastants. Le sociologue polonais Zygmunt Bauman a longuement exploré le concept corolaire de « liquidité » pour décrire nos vies et nos villes prises dans des flux incessants de vitesse, en changement et mouvement perpétuels. Si cette fluidité est une menace pour les structures sociales, elle est aussi une opportunité, car elle est synonyme de souplesse. La vie fluide se déforme pour s’adapter à son environnement, elle recompose en permanence ses réseaux, elle est ouverte sur l’extérieur…

Appel à propositions

TOPO ouvre cet appel à propositions sous deux volets :

  1. Installations médiatiques et interactives pour la Vitrine : un espace vitré de 12 m2 situé dans le couloir au rez-de-chaussée du Pôle de Gaspé, accueillant espaces commerciaux, culturels et artistiques, dont neuf centres d’artistes de diffusion et de production. Au sein de cet environnement, la vitrine capte l’attention et suscite diverses réflexions autour de l’occupation du lieu et de la production in situ.
  2. Œuvres d’art web : TOPO souhaite faire le pont entre son ADN web et la production actuelle en rendant hommage à la culture internet. Dans un contexte « post-tout », quelles sont les orientations visibles dans les créations d’aujourd’hui conçues par, pour et avec le réseau internet? Les œuvres web sélectionnées seront regroupées en séries, et promues en ligne à travers le site de TOPO, accompagnées d’un texte éditorial.

Pour sa programmation 2021-2023, TOPO cherche des propositions offrant des discours engagés et des explorations formelles et narratives mettant au défi l’intégration du texte, de l’image et du son, dans leurs dimensions physique ou écranique. Les propositions peuvent comprendre à la fois un volet installatif et une dimension web prolongeant l’expérience dans l’espace virtuel.

Une attention particulière est portée aux imaginaires des Amériques, incluant ceux issus de l’autochtonie.

Les projets en galerie et en ligne pourront aborder différentes approches de la fluidité comme nouvelles façons d’être, tant autour de dimensions sociétales qu’individuelles, comme critiques et comme utopies. Qu’elles soient interactives, génératives, contemplatives ou bousculantes, comment ces œuvres portent-elles des réflexions sur les caractéristiques et les nuances de la fluidité, du flux, et de leurs frontières?

À titre d’exemple :

  • Internet et sa transmutation continue;
  • les nouveaux modes de la célébrité;
  • les variations identitaires;
  • la mobilité comme objet relationnel : connexion ou exclusion;
  • la remise en question du consumérisme;
  • la transition socioécologique;
  • l’urbanisme « open source »;
  • la nature transformée;
  • l’art de vivre avec incertitude.

Pour la Vitrine comme pour le Web, les projets finalisés ou en cours de réalisation et démontrant un engagement solide de la part des artistes seront favorisés.

Les critères de sélection tiennent compte de la pertinence et de la faisabilité des projets dans le contexte proposé. L’artiste doit être en mesure de réaliser la production de son œuvre et d’en assurer la maintenance tout au long de l’exposition. Les œuvres web doivent être compatibles avec les plateformes usuelles de diffusion.

Dans son analyse, le centre est attentif aux diverses formes de présentation et de formulation de pratiques issues de la diversité artistique et culturelle.

Les artistes sélectionné.e.s bénéficient des moyens suivants :

  • cachet de diffusion;
  • accès aux équipements informatiques et audiovisuels du centre (voir en ligne);
  • trois jours de soutien technique au montage;
  • organisation d’un événement de diffusion appuyé par une campagne de promotion.

Dans le cas des artistes résidant hors de la région de Montréal, les frais de transport et de séjour devront faire l’objet d’une entente spécifique ou d’un financement dédié.

 

 

 

Plan de la vitrine

Plan de la vitrine

Documents demandés :

1) Projet et démarche

— Description du projet d’installation ou d’art web (2 pages max.)

— Description des besoins techniques — installation (1 page max.)

— Démarche artistique (1 page max.)

— Curriculum vitae (3 pages max.)

Ces documents doivent être regroupés sous un seul fichier pdf (5 Mo max.).

 

2) Documentation visuelle (max 12 documents)

— Images (jpg, gif, png)

— Dossier de presse, si applicable (max 4 pages)

La documentation visuelle doit être regroupée en un seul fichier Zip (15 Mo max).

 

3) Liens web et vidéo

Inscrire dans le formulaire un maximum de trois liens web ainsi que leur description.

 

Merci d’utiliser la norme suivante pour nommer les fichiers en évitant les caractères spéciaux et accentués :

  • Documentation textuelle : 2021-2023_TXT_NomArtiste.pdf
  • Documentation visuelle : 2021-2023_VISUEL_NomArtiste.zip

Date limite : 10 janvier 2021

 

Formulaire de soumission

En cas de questions ou problème, communiquez avec nous à l’adresse tech@agencetopo.qc.ca.

Vos informations

 

Votre projet

 

URL de site web et documentation en ligne

    Si applicable, entrez les URL de vos sites web ou menant à la documentation en ligne (vidéo, audio).

 
 
 

Attendez la page de confirmation avant de quitter le formulaire.
Un courriel vous sera également envoyé.


Détails de l'événement

  • Date: