Sortir
SORTIR DE L’ÉCRAN / SPOKEN SCREEN
See what happens when text and performance meet the latest digital technologies.
Thursday, February 5, 2009, at Sala RossaIn partnership with the spoken word festival Voix d’Amériques, Agence TOPO presented on February 5, 2009, Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen, an evening of stage and audiovisual performances by four eclectic collectives from Montréal and Toronto: the irreverent multimedia artist Istvan Kantor – aka Monty Cantsin – and his Red Armband; the musician Diane Labrosse, the multimedia creator Sébastien Cliche and the Lombardo sisters; and the audio performance collective Mineminemine and the poet of the digital David Jhave Johnson.For those who missed this exceptional evening listed as the first OFF event of the Montreal Festival Voix d’Amériques, we have posted some video excerpts of the performances.
Dactylotactile
Mantra-Tratrata-Boom!Boom!Boom!
New Media Jelly

FEATURING (click below … to know more about the program

Mantra-Tratratra-Boom!Boom!Boom!
Istvan Kantor – alias Monty Cantsin – and his Red Armband with: Eszter Jagica, Lewis Kaye, Art Szombathy and Wes Rickert
Experimental media-performance exploring the popular form of the video-song.

Istvan Kantor sings a Neoist Revolutionary Song

Dactylotactile
Diane Labrosse, Sébastien Cliche with Élodie & Séverine Lombardo
Multiscreen projection of poems and sound exploration where typewrites are used as interfaces and instruments.

Labrosse Cliche et les soeurs Lombardo

SDLEM
Mineminemine, audio performance collective (Magali Babin, Éric Létourneau, Alexandre St-Onge),
with their guests Philémon Bézy and Simon Brown

Le trio Mineminemine part en transe avec SDLM

New Media Jelly
David Jhave Johnston
Interactive digital poetry interludes.

jhave Johnson 3D poetry

INFORMATION
Thursday, February 5, 2009, 8:30 p.m.
Sala Rossa, 4848 St-Laurent Blvd, Montreal
$15 – Tickets available at the Espace GO ticket counter, at Admission, or on show night at the Sala Rossa as of 6 p.m.

Ticket Counter +++++ Buy your tickets in advance, seats are limited

ESPACE GO : Tel, 514.845.4890 – 4890 St-Laurent Blvd, Tuesday-Saturday, 12 p.m. – 6 p.m.
ADMISSION : Tel. 514.790.1245 or http://www.admission.com

THE ARTISTS

Istvan Kantor
Istvan Kantor aka Monty Cantsin, founder of Neoism, is an action based media artist/subvertainer/producer, active in many fields, performance, robotics, mixed-media, installation, painting, sound, music, video and new media. His main subjects are the decay of technology and the struggle of the individual in technological society. In collaboration with legendary correspondence artist David Zack, Kantor launched the Monty Cantsin open-pop-star project in Portland, Oregon in 1978. He initiated both the international operations of Neoism and his major life-long performance “Blood Campaign” in 1979 in Montreal. He has been arrested and jailed many times for his blood-x interventions in museums. Kantor’s work was featured since the beginning of the 80’s by prestigious festivals and events. He is also a recipient of the Canadian Governor General’s Award for Visual and Media Arts (2004), as well as being the bandleader/singer of the Red Armband, founder-member of the MachineSexActionGroup and the Kantor Family Circus. Born in Budapest, he lives and works in Toronto since the 90’s. http://www.istvankantor.com

Labrosse Cliche
A composer, improviser and performer, Diane Labrosse is a regular on the contemporary, improvised and avant-garde music scenes both in Canada and abroad where she has participated in several prestigious festivals. A founding member of the groups Justine, Les Poules and Wondeur Brass with Joane Hétu and Danielle Palardy Roger, she has also widely collaborated with dance, theatre, cinema and radio productions. Her discography is made up of over thirty records. Diane Labrosse is very involved in experimental music and from 1980 to 2008 she was the co-founder and artistic co-director of Productions SuperMusique – a contemporary music production house. She is also part of Ambiances Magnétiques, a collective of independent musician/producers.

Sébastien Cliche is a multidisciplinary artist employing photography, text and sound. He has shown his work in numerous exhibitions in Canada and France. As a sound artist, he has notably performed his piece /invisible field/ at the Mutek festival (2005) and is co-author of the score for Relevé de terrain, a Julie Lebel’s choreography programmed at Tangente in April 2009. He also worked as a curator on The Hearing Eye, an exhibition where visual artists and musicians are brought together through graphic scores. On the web, you can experience his projects Gravity Principles and Ruptures or simply visit aplacewhereyoufeelsafe.com to learn more about his work. He lives and works in Montreal.

Mineminemine
Mineminemine is an interdisciplinary collective that has been doing sound performance since 1999. It is made up of Magali Babin, Éric Létourneau and Alexandre St-Onge, three sound artists known for their contemporary music experimentations. The trio’s approach is based on a sound art practice that establishes a direct relation between the sound and the performative action. Notable among the collective’s creations are: two pieces created for the Westwerk gallery in Hamburg, Germany (2002), a commissioned work for the Roots festival organized by the artist-run centre Time Based-Arts in Hull, England (2002) and a commission for a performance presented as part of an exhibition of the artists Christof Migone, Jocelyn Robert and Raymond Gervais at the gallery Bina Ellen in Montréal (2006).

David Jhave Johnston
David Jhave Johnston is a multimedia-poet currently living in Montreal. He has been involved in numerous collaborative and solo digital and in-situ art practises (working with among others: Year01, Champ Libre, Bioteknica, Turbulence.org, Ollivier Dyens, OBX, TML, Symbiosis, Zoi, etc.). His work has been exhibited at 2 new media Biennales: Montreal ’03 & Toronto ’04. He graduated in the spring of 2004 with distinction from Concordia University with a Bachelor of Computer Science, minor in Digital Image and Sound. In 2005 he graduated from the SFU SIAT MaSc in Interactive Arts program. He is currently a doctoral student at Concordia University. www.glia.ca

THE PROMOTOR

Agence TOPO – http://www.AgenceTOPO.qc.ca
At the crossroads of visual arts, literature and new media

Agence TOPO is an artist-run centre dedicated to the production, dissemination and distribution of independent multimedia works. Since 1998, TOPO creates and produces collective multimedia art projects with a diversity of artists, presented in local and international exhibitions, events and festivals. The centre also distributes a catalogue of artistic and experimental works on CD/DVD. The series Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen was initiated in 2007/2008 in collaboration with the Laboratoire NT2, which led to the presentation of a first series of hypermedia performances and conferences at the gallery La Centrale Powerhouse and the Université du Québec à Montréal (www.sortirdelecran.ca).

This evening of performances is made possible by the Programme de soutien des pratiques émergentes as part of a partnership agreement between the Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

THE PARTNER

Festival Voix d’Amériques – http://www.fva.ca
An electrifying platform for different voices

Founded in 2002 and coordinated by Les Filles électriques, the Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) offers up eight days of engaged and effervescent experimentation every February in Montréal. It is now the most important spoken word festival in Canada.

Source : Agence TOPO – Michel Lefebvre, General Director
T 514 279-8676 / www.AgenceTOPO.qc.ca

Agence TOPO thanks the Canada Arts Council, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, Emploi-Québec, the Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal, the Société des arts technologiques which hosts TOPO’s web site, as well as the Festival Voix d’Amériques.


Event Details

  • Date:

Sortir
SORTIR DE L’ÉCRAN / SPOKEN SCREEN
Soirée « nouvelles technos » où le texte et la performance se marient aux nouveaux médias
Jeudi 5 février 2009, 20 h 30 à La Sala RossaEn collaboration avec le Festival Voix d’Amériques, l’Agence TOPO présentait Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen le 5 février 2009, une soirée de performances scéniques et audiovisuelles avec quatre collectifs éclectiques de Montréal et de Toronto : l’irrévérencieux, multimédiatique et figure phare du mouvement néoïste Istvan Kantor – alias Monty Cantsin – et son Red Armband; la musicienne Diane Labrosse, incontournable de la musique actuelle montréalaise, en collaboration avec le concepteur multimédia Sébastien Cliche et les sœurs Lombardo ; le collectif de performeurs audio Mineminemine, improvisateurs surprenants d’ironie contextuelle ; et le poète du numérique David Jhave Johnson.Pour ceux et celles qui ont manqué ce premier événement OFF du Festival montréalais Voix d’Amériques, nous avons mis en ligne quelques extraits vidéo des quatre performances.

Dactylotactile

Mantra-Tratrata-Boom!Boom!Boom!

New Media Jelly

PROGRAMME (cliquez ci-contre … pour en savoir plus à propos du programme)

Mantra-Tratratra-Boom!Boom!Boom!
Istvan Kantor – alias Monty Cantsin – et son Red Armband avec : Eszter Jagica, Lewis Kaye, Art Szombathy et Wes Rickert
Performance multimédiatique explorant les formes populaires de la chanson-vidéo.

Istvan Kantor sings a Neoist Revolutionary Song

Dactylotactile
Diane Labrosse, Sébastien Cliche avec Élodie et Séverine Lombardo
Projection multi-écrans de poèmes et exploration musicale où des machines à écrire servent d’interfaces et d’instruments.

Labrosse Cliche et les soeurs Lombardo

SDLEM
Mineminemine, collectif de performeurs audio (Magali Babin, Éric Létourneau, Alexandre St-Onge),
avec leurs invités Philémon Bézy et Simon Brown

Le trio Mineminemine part en transe avec SDML

New Media Jelly
David Jhave Johnston
Intermèdes de poésie numérique interactive.

jhave Johnson 3D poetry

INFORMATION
Jeudi 5 février 2009, 20 h 30
Sala Rossa, 4848, boul. Saint-Laurent, Montréal
15 $ – Les billets sont disponibles à la billetterie de l’ESPACE GO, au réseau ADMISSION ou le soir de la représentation dès 18 h 00 à La Sala Rossa

Billetterie +++++ Achetez vos billets d’avance, les places sont limitées

ESPACE GO : T 514.845.4890 — 4890, Saint-Laurent, du mardi au samedi de 12 h 00 à 18 h 00
Réseau ADMISSION : T 514.790.1245 ou http://www.admission.com

LES ARTISTES

Istvan Kantor
Istvan Kantor, aussi connu sous le nom de Monty Cantsin, fondateur du mouvement néoïste, est un artiste des arts visuels, médiatiques et performatifs, actif dans plusieurs champs disciplinaires, de l’art-action à la robotique en passant par la musique et la poésie. En collaboration avec l’artiste renommé de l’art postal, David Zack, il a fondé en 1978, à Portland, Orégon, le projet «Monty Cantsin open pop-star» et a initié à Montréal, en 1979, sa série performative «Blood Campaing». Il a d’ailleurs été arrêté et emprisonné plusieurs fois pour ses interventions illégales dans les musées utilisant les croix de sang. Son travail est présenté depuis les années 1980 sur la scène internationale et dans les principaux événements et festivals d’art électronique. Il a été récipiendaire, en 2004, du Prix du Gouverneur général en arts médiatiques. Il est également le leader et le chanteur du groupe Red ArmBand, membre fondateur du MachineSexActionGroup et du Kantor Family Circus. Né à Budapest, il vit et travaille à Toronto depuis le début des années 1990. http://www.istvankantor.com http://www.istvankantor.com

Labrosse Cliche
Compositeure, improvisatrice et interprète, Diane Labrosse se retrouve régulièrement sur les scènes de musique actuelle, musique improvisée, musique d’avant-garde tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger où elle a participé à plusieurs festivals d’envergure. Membre fondatrice des groupes Justine, Les Poules et Wondeur Brass avec Joane Hétu et Danielle Palardy Roger, elle a multiplié les collaborations avec les productions en danse, en théâtre, en cinéma et à la radio. Sa discographie comprend plus d’une trentaine de disques. Très engagée dans le milieu des musiques de création, Diane Labrosse aura été, de 1980 à 2008, cofondatrice et codirectrice artistique de Productions SuperMusique – production de concerts de musique actuelle. Elle fait également partie du collectif Ambiances Magnétiques, regroupement de musiciens/producteurs indépendants.

Artiste multidisciplinaire vivant à Montréal, Sébastien Cliche travaille avec l’image, le texte et le son. Ses œuvres ont été présentées lors de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives au Canada et en France. À titre de créateur sonore, il a notamment présenté sa pièce /invisible field/ lors du festival Mutek (2005) et co-signe la musique de Relevé de terrain, un projet chorégraphique de Julie Lebel (Tangente, Avril 2009). Il a aussi été commissaire de l’exposition itinérante L’Oreille dans l’œil, qui réunissait des artistes et des musiciens autour de la partition graphique. Sur le Web, on peut voir ses projets Principes de gravité et Ruptures ou simplement consulter le site de l’artiste : aplacewhereyoufeelsafe.com to learn more about his work. He lives and works in Montreal.

Mineminemine
Mineminemine est un collectif inderdisciplinaire pratiquant la perfomance sonore depuis 1999, constitué de Magali Babin, Éric Létourneau & Alexandre St-Onge, trois concepteurs audio connus pour leurs expérimentations en musique actuelle. La démarche du trio repose sur une pratique de l’art sonore où un rapport direct s’établit entre le son et l’action performative. Parmi les réalisations du collectif, notons : deux pièces créées pour la galerie Westwerk à Hambourg en Allemagne (2002), une commande du festival Roots organisé par le centre d’artistes Hull Time Based-Arts en Angleterre (2002) et une commande pour une performance présentée dans le cadre d’une exposition des artistes Christof Migne, Jocelyn Robert et Raymond Gervais à la galerie Bina Ellen à Montréal (2006).

David Jhave Johnston
Artiste du web, D.J. Johnston a débuté sa pratique comme poète puis a intégré les outils informatiques et numériques. Il est engagé dans de nombreuses collaborations, notamment avec le collectif torontois Year01 où il agit régulièrement comme commissaire. Son travail a été présenté notamment aux Biennales d’art contemporain de Montréal, en 2003, et de Toronto, en 2004. Diplômé de l’université Concordia en 2004 en Sciences informatiques, il a également complété une maîtrise en Arts interactifs à l’université Simon Fraser (Vancouver) en 2005 et est actuellement doctorant à Concordia. www.glia.ca

LE PROMOTEUR

Agence TOPOhttp://www.AgenceTOPO.qc.ca
Au carrefour des arts visuels, de la littérature et des nouveaux médias

Agence TOPO est un centre d’artistes montréalais voué à la création, la diffusion et la distribution d’œuvres multimédias indépendantes. Depuis 1998, TOPO initie, réalise et produit des projets collectifs d’art multimédia avec une diversité d’artistes, présentés dans des galeries, événements et festivals d’art électronique à travers le monde. Vitrine de la fiction interactive, l’Agence TOPO distribue également un catalogue international d’une cinquantaine de titres d’art et d’essai sur cdrom, dvdrom et dvd vidéo. La série Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen a été initiée en 2007 / 2008 avec le Laboratoire NT2 (Nouvelles technologies, nouvelles textualités) et a donné lieu à une première série de performances hypermédiatiques et de conférences présentées à la galerie La Centrale et à l’UQAM (www.sortirdelecran.ca).

Cette soirée est rendue possible grâce au Programme de soutien des pratiques émergentes issu d’une entente de partenariat entre la Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et le Conseil des arts de Montréal.

LE PARTENAIRE

Festival Voix d’Amériqueshttp://www.fva.ca
Une tribune électrisante pour les voix différentes

Fondé en 2002, dirigé par Les Filles électriques, le Festival Voix d’Amériques (FVA) est un lieu d’expérimentation engagé et effervescent qui se déroule à Montréal durant huit jours en février. Il est aujourd’hui le plus important festival de «spoken word» au Canada.

Source : Agence TOPO – Michel Lefebvre, directeur général
T 514 279-8676 / michel@agencetopo.qc.ca / www.AgenceTOPO.qc.ca

Agence TOPO remercie le Conseil des Arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, Emploi-Québec, Conférence régionale des élus de Montréal, la Société des arts technologiques qui héberge son site web et le Festival Voix d’Amériques.


Détails de l'événement

  • Date: