Vidéo Pistoletto
Oli Sorenson

Window Display Installation and Performances
5445 de Gaspé Ave. / Ground Floor
January 23th to February 20th, 2016

IMG_3707

From January 23th to Fabruary 20th, 2016, Agence TOPO presents the installation and the performances Vidéo Pistoletto by Montreal-based American artist Oli Sorenson.

Video Pistoletto registers under a remix approach: it is directly inspired by Michelangelo Pistoletto’s recent mirror smashing performances, the artist will partially break video monitors. With the destruction of liquid crystal display (LCD) televisions using a sledgehammer and chisel, the surface of these technological devices are transformed into constellations of illuminated cracks and splinters, to take a surprisingly organic character.

Every Saturday afternoon, Sorenson will occupy the interior space of the TOPO window display to gradually break one of the two vertically hung 42-inch monitors. The second monitor will serve to broadcast a cumulative edit of the individual performances, captured using a digital video camera. Thus, at any one time, audiences can experience all the actions from the previous performance, between the ‘archiving’ monitor (playing back the performer actions) and the ‘artifact’ monitor (exposing the destructive traces).

With this performance series, Sorenson aims to emphasize the materiality of technological objects, too often set aside to promote the so-called immaterial properties of digitalism. Yet the planned obsolescence and rapid mass consumption of digital products make these among of the most common seen items in waste dumpters and landfills. By producing seductive abstractions with the controlled demolition of monitors, his intention is to maintain a troubling ambiguity within a gesture that is simultaneously creative and destructive, an ambiguity which he hopes will influence our perception of digital media to better unveil both their economic and environmental impact.

 

Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 6.24.28 PMBorn in Los Angeles, Oli Sorenson has lived and worked in London (UK) between 1999 and 2010, to combine VJing, visual art shows and curatorial work (including several events at Tate Britain, the Institute of Contemporary Art and the British Film Institute). Sorenson has exhibited at the Millennium Museum (Beijing), the Media Art Institute (Amsterdam), ZKM (Karlsruhe) DokFest (Kassel) and more. He performs regularly in media festivals such as ISEA (Helsinki and Nagoya), Mapping Festival (Geneva) and MAF (Bangkok). He is now based in Montreal, Canada since 2010.

Sorenson started his artistic career by subverting preconceptions of originality and identity in his digital and performance works, to thus shoot to international acclaim under the moniker “VJ Anyone” and collaborated with numerous bands such as Leftfield, MIA, Block Party, Talvin Singh and more, simultaneously to his studio production. Recognized as one of the world’s top ten VJs between 2003 and 2008 by DJ Magazine (UK), Sorenson describes his approach as that of a remix artist: “I produce art as a DJ produces music.”

 

This exhibition is in collaboration with Art Souterrain.


Event Details

Vidéo Pistoletto
Oli Sorenson

Installation et performance en vitrine
5445, av. de Gaspé / Rez-de-chaussée
23 janvier au 20 février 2015

IMG_3707

Du 23 janvier au 20 février 2016, Agence TOPO présente l’installation Vidéo Pistoletto d’Oli Sorenson, artiste d’origine américaine basé à Montréal.

Vidéo Pistoletto s’inscrit dans une approche remix. Sorenson, directement inspiré des performances récentes de Michelangelo Pistoletto qui fracasse de grands miroirs, brisera partiellement des moniteurs vidéo. La destruction des écrans à cristaux liquides (LCD) avec une massue et un burin transformera la surface de appareils technologiques  en une constellation de fissures et d’éclats lumineux.

L’artiste effectuera une série de performances en vitrine. Chaque samedi après-midi, il occupera l’intérieur de la vitrine pour progressivement briser un des deux moniteurs. Le second moniteur diffusera un montage cumulatif des performances ponctuelles, capturées à l’aide d’une caméra vidéo.

Avec cette série de performances, Sorenson tente de souligner la matérialité des objets technologiques, trop souvent mise de côté pour promouvoir les propriétés soi-disant immuables du numérique. Pourtant, l’obsolescence rapide et planifiée de ces produits de consommation de masse en font un des déchets les plus communs des dépotoirs et sites d’enfouissement. Même si par la démolition contrôlée de ces moniteurs, il produit des abstractions séduisantes, son intention est de maintenir cette ambigüité troublante par un geste à la fois créateur et destructeur, une ambigüité sur notre perception des médias numériques permettant à la fois de mieux révéler leur impact économique et environnemental.

 

Screen shot 2015-02-17 at 6.24.28 PMNé à Los Angeles, Oli Sorenson a vécu et travaillé à Londres (Royaume-Uni) entre 1999 et 2010, combinant ses activités de VJ et d’arts visuels avec celles de commissaire (y compris plusieurs événements à Tate Britain, l’Institute of Contemporary Art et le British Film Institute). Sorenson a entre autres exposé au Millenium Museum (Beijing), l’Institut Media Art (Amsterdam), ZKM (Karlsruhe), Dokfest (Kassel). Il performe régulièrement dans les festivals médiatiques tells que ISEA (Helsinki et Nagoya), Mapping Festival (Genève) et MAF (Bangkok). Il est basé à Montréal, au Canada depuis 2010.

Sorenson a commencé sa carrière artistique par la transgression des concepts dʼoriginalité et d’identité dans ses œuvres numériques et de performance, pour ainsi parvenir à une renommée internationale sous le pseudonyme «VJ Anyone» et a collaboré avec de nombreux groupes tels Leftfield, M.I.A, Block Party, Talvin Singh et plus, simultanément à sa production dʼatelier. Reconnu comme l’un des dix meilleurs VJs du monde entre 2003 et 2008 par DJ Magazine (UK), Sorenson décrit son approche comme celle d’un artiste du remix: «Je produis mon travail comme un DJ produit sa musique.»

 

L’exposition est présentée en partenariat avec Art Souterrain. 


Détails de l'événement