14 January 2016

Jörg Piringer (Austria)

[Digital interactive visual sound poetry]

February 3 to 7, 2016


PROGRAM OF ACTIVITIES

Piringer’s text & sound art applications

Professional workshop for IOS, Apple Watch and OSX

 Notman House / February 3 – 1 PM to 4 PM


Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen

Evening of performances

Double program with Montreal artist Alexis O’Hara

La Vitrola / February 4 – 8 PM


Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space

audiovisual text performance workshop

Agence TOPO / February 6 and 7 – 10 AM to 4 PM



 

118533

Agence TOPO announces the forthcoming visit in Montreal of Jörg Piringer, an Austrian artist and researcher in the fields of electronic music, radio art, sound and visual electronic poetry, interactive collaborative systems, online communities, live performance, sound installations, computer games and video art. He will give a series of workshops and performances between February 3 and 7, 2016.

Piringer is a poet, musician and programmer whose practice oscillates between language, literature, graphic and sound poetry, and computer art. In 2015, he was awarded as the outstanding artist of the year in media arts by the Department of Arts and Culture of the Chancellery of Austria.

Its program of activities in Montreal includes: – a professional workshop dedicated to application developers for iOS, OSX and Apple Watch, on February 3 at the Notman House; – a performance at La Vitrola, on February 4, with the Montreal poet and performer Alexis O’Hara, as part of the media performance series Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen; – and a weekend workshop on February 6 and 7 at Agence TOPO, for artists interested in experimenting with the tools and methods of Jörg Piringer. This workshop is part of Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space, a training program in digital literature organized annually by Agence TOPO with invited artist(s). Jörg Piringer will also participate on February 3 at the third edition of COMPOSITE, a forum for digital creativity which gives rise to connections and cross-pollination between creators, artists’ centres, organizations, businesses, and professionals operating within the digital milieu. 

 

 Né en 1974, Jörg Piringer vit et travaille en Autriche. Ses œuvres explorent l’intelligibilité et l’abstraction à travers la vidéo, le son, l’installation, la performance et la net-litterature de l'Internet. Il utilise les codes du langage écrit et parlé des médias de masse comme une expérience personnelle lui permettant d’amplifier son idée que la poésie est aussi un processus d’information. Il détient une maitrise en informatique et il est membre de l’Institut de recherche Transacoustic et du Vegetable Orchestra.

örg piringer  

[digital sound visual interactive poetry etc.]

http://joerg.piringer.net

Born in 1974 , Jörg Piringer lives and works in Austria. His works explore the intelligibility and abstraction through video, sound, installation, performance and net – literature of the Internet. He uses the codes of written and spoken language of the mass media as a personal experience to amplify his idea that poetry is also an information process. He holds a Masters in Computer Science and he is a member of the Transacoustic Research Institute and the Vegetable Orchestra.

 

The visit of Jörg Piringer is made possible with the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts.

 

DETAILED PROGRAM

Comm_Piringer

 

Wednesday, February 3 – 1 PM to 4 PM
Notman House – 51 Sherbrooke Street West
A professional workshop around Piringer’s text & sound art applications
for iOS, Apple Watch and OSX.
Free – registration required : diffusion@agencetopo.qc.ca

Jörg Piringer is an artist involved in digital art and computer programming. Freelance artist and researcher, he develops applications for online communities, live performances, sound installations, computer games and video art. In this workshop at the Notman House, Piringer will show the concepts and talk about the development & dissemination of his award winning text and sound art apps for iOS, Apple Watch and OSX, including:

unimator // uses the whole character set of the device including Smileys, Emojis, and other symbols and scripts. Enter the texts with a special keyboard that shows all possible characters. Make animated ascii-art and astonishing text animations.
https://vimeo.com/98533520

 

tiny poems // brings concrete minimal poetry to mobile devices like Apple Watch, iPhone and iPad. The pieces show short and dynamic texts for the wrist. The poems reflect time and vanity and change constantly according to the continuosly passing time.
https://vimeo.com/125372194

 

unicode infinite // a generative interactive infinite text video installation. It animates the glyphs of the basic multilingual plane of the unicode standard and presents this range of the human culture of writing as a polyphonic text video installation.

 

konsonant // plays with letters and sounds, builds acoustic machines and controls morphing clouds. Enjoy the sounds and shapes of letters by line drawing, physics simulations or acoustic networks.
Awarded at App Art Award 2012
https://vimeo.com/38471196

 

More details about other apps :
RealBeat http://www.apps.piringer.net/realbeat.php
gravity clock http://www.apps.piringer.net/gravity-clock.php
abcdefgh…http://www.apps.piringer.net/abcdefg.php
RealBeat for Mac http://www.apps.piringer.net/realbeat-mac.php

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Thursday, February 4 – 8 PM
La Vitrola – 4602 St-Laurent Bld.
Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen – Evening of performances
Jörg Piringer (Austria) darkvoice
Alexis O’Hara (Montreal) Spoken Noise
Entrance : 10 $ / 5 $ (member)

darkvoice is an electronic audiovisual text performance about the role of spoken language in the age of permanent and all-encompassing surveillance. In analogy to historic secret languages like German Rotwelsch or the French argot the performance investigates the construction of an electronic secret language that cannot be understood at all. This language is called darkvoice :

darkvoice is the obfuscation of language. darkvoice is the code-talker that no one understand because his language never existed. darkvoice is the ultimate self-censorship, the undecipherable message. darkvoice is the sound of the new world order, the private language of the net.

The acoustic and visual material of the performance consists only of voice, electronically manipulated voice and text or letter-shapes.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Saturday and Sunday, February 6 and 7 – 10 AM to 5 PM
Agence TOPO – 5445 de Gaspé ave., suite 608
Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space
audiovisual text performance workshop
Workshop with the tools and methods of Jörg Piringer
Registration fee – 50 $ / person

With Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space, Agence TOPO invites researchers and practitioners of digital literature to develop their expertise in the field of text and literature spacialisation, in the physical and virtual spaces.

In this workshop, participants will work on ideation, creation and media performance from poetry or text. They will use simple devices and software to manipulate, reorder and edit their own voice. The objective is to come to a live performance and to create visual text. This workshop does not require computer knowledge or other technology, simply knowing how to write and speak.

Participants need a laptop
Registration required
Info : Agence TOPO / 514 279-8676
diffusion@agencetopo.qc.ca

14 janvier 2016

Atelier professionnel sur le développement d’applications artistiques
Maison Notman /
3 février – 13 h à 16 h

Soirée de performances
Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen
Programme double avec Alexis O’Hara
La Vitrola / 4 février – 20 h

Atelier d’expérimentation
Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space
Agence TOPO / 6 et 7 février – 10 h à 16 h

 

118533

L’Agence TOPO annonce la venue au Québec de l’artiste autrichien Jörg Piringer, poète médiatique et développeur d’applications, pour une série d’ateliers et de performances entre le 3 et le 7 février 2016.

Piringer est un poète, musicien et programmeur dont la pratique oscille entre le langage, la littérature, la poésie graphique et sonore et les technologies de l’information. En 2015, le Service des arts et de la culture de la chancellerie d’Autriche lui décernait le prix de l’artiste exceptionnel de l’année en arts médiatiques.

Son programme d’activités à Montréal comprend un atelier professionnel dédié aux développeurs d’applications pour iOS, Apple Watch et OSX, le 3 février à la maison Notman ; une performance à la Vitrola, le 4 février, avec la poète performeuse montréalaise Alexis O’Hara, dans le cadre de la série de performances médiatiques Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen ; une fin de semaine d’atelier les 6 et 7 février, à l’Agence TOPO, pour les artistes intéressés à expérimenter avec les outils et méthodes de Jörg Piringer. Cet atelier d’expérimentation avec le texte s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space que l’Agence TOPO organise annuellement avec des artistes invité(e)s. Jörg Piringer participera le 3 février à la 3e édition des rendez-vous COMPOSITE – forum de la créativité numérique, un lieu de rencontre et de réseautage entre artistes et entrepreneurs où sont présentés brièvement par leurs promoteurs une dizaine de projets novateurs récents ou en cours de développement.

 

jörg piringer  

[digital sound visual interactive poetry etc.]

http://joerg.piringer.net

Né en 1974, Jörg Piringer vit et travaille en Autriche. Ses œuvres explorent l’intelligibilité et l’abstraction à travers la vidéo, le son, l’installation, la performance et la net-litterature de l’Internet. Il utilise les codes du langage écrit et parlé des médias de masse comme une expérience personnelle lui permettant d’amplifier son idée que la poésie est aussi un processus d’information.

Il détient une maitrise en informatique et il est membre de l’Institut de recherche Transacoustic et du Vegetable Orchestra.

Comm_Piringer

Mercredi 3 février – 13 h à 16 h
Maison Notman – 51, rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Atelier sur le développement d’applications artistiques pour iOS, Apple Watch et OSX.
Entrée gratuiteinscription obligatoire : diffusion@agencetopo.qc.ca

Jörg Piringer est un artiste des arts numériques et de la programmation. Il travaille comme artiste indépendant et chercheur dans les domaines de la musique électronique, de l’art radiophonique et sonore et de la poésie visuelle électronique en plus de développer des applications pour les communautés en ligne, le spectacle vivant, l’installation sonore, les jeux informatiques et l’art vidéo. Lors de son atelier à la Maison Notman, Piringer présentera les enjeux techniques liés à la création et à la diffusion des applications qu’il a créées, dont :

unimator // utilise l’ensemble des caractères typographiques disponibles sur les différents supports numériques – tels que Smileys, Émoticons, caractères, symboles et scripts – pour créer de l’art ASCII composé des textes et d’animations.
https://vimeo.com/98533520

tiny poems // diffuse de la poésie minimaliste dans des appareils mobiles comme l’IWatch, le iPhone et l’iPad . Les poèmes proposent des textes courts et dynamiques pour l’écran et le poignet, qui reflètent le temps et la vanité. Ils changent constamment au rythme du temps qui passe.
https://vimeo.com/125372194

unicode infinite // est une installation vidéo de texte interactif et génératif. L’application anime les caractères multilingues de base de la norme unicode et compose une installation vidéo de textes polyphoniques.

konsonant // joue avec les lettres et les sons, construit des machines acoustiques, contrôle la formation de nuages (clouds) et permet l’expérimentation avec l’alphabet en dessinant des lignes et des réseaux acoustiques.
Application primée  au App Art Award 2012.
https://vimeo.com/38471196

Voici d’autres applications artistiques créées par Piringer
RealBeat http://www.apps.piringer.net/realbeat.php
gravity clock http://www.apps.piringer.net/gravity-clock.php
abcdefgh…http://www.apps.piringer.net/abcdefg.php
RealBeat for Mac http://www.apps.piringer.net/realbeat-mac.php

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Jeudi 4 février 20 h
La Vitrola – 4602, Boul. St-Laurent
Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen Soirée de performances médiatiques
Jörg Piringer (Autriche) darkvoice
Alexis O’Hara (Montréal) Spoken Noise
Entrée : 10 $ / 5 $ (membres de l’Agence TOPO)

darkvoice est un texte-performance audiovisuel et électronique basé sur la langue parlée en cette ère de surveillance permanente et globale. Par analogie aux langages historiques secrets tels que le rotwelsch allemand ou l’argot français, la performance questionne la construction d’un langage électronique ne pouvant être compris : darkvoice.

darkvoice évoque le côté sombre d’un langage, le code-talkeur que personne ne parle ou comprend, car ce langage n’existe pas. darkvoice évoque l’autocensure ultime, le message indéchiffrable. darkvoice est le son d’un nouvel ordre mondial, la langue privée de l’Internet. 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Samedi 6 et dimanche 7 février – 10 h à 17 h
Agence TOPO – 5445, av. de Gaspé, espace 608
Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space
Atelier d’expérimentation avec les outils et méthodes de Jörg Piringer
Sur inscription seulement50 $ / personne

Avec Les mots dans l’espace / Words in Space, l’Agence TOPO invite des chercheurs et des praticiens de la littérature numérique afin de contribuer au développement d’une expertise en spacialisation du texte et de la littérature dans les espaces physques et virtuels.

Lors de cet atelier, les participants travailleront sur l’idéation, la création et la performance médiatique à partir de la poésie ou du texte. Ils utiliseront des logiciels simples et des dispositifs pour manipuler, réorganiser et modifier leur propre voix dans le but d’en arriver à une performance en direct et de créer du texte visuel. 

Cet atelier ne nécessite pas de connaissances en informatique ou autre technologie, simplement de savoir écrire et de parler.

Les participants ont besoin d’un ordinateur portable

Inscription obligatoire. Places limitées.
Info : Agence TOPO / 514 279-8676
diffusion@agencetopo.qc.ca