25 August 2016
Labsessions
Call for projects
Deadline: Tuesday, September 6th, 2016
 


DIGITAL EMERGING ARTISTS’ PROJECT PRESENTATIONS
 


Presented by the Society for Arts and Technology (SAT), the Conseil québécois des arts médiatiques (CQAM), Agence TOPO, Eastern Bloc,ELEKTRA – BIAN, Labo NT2, OBORO, PRIM, Studio XX and Vidéographe,Labsessions invite emerging artists working in the field of digital art to submit a new work-in-progress project for the 11th Labsessions event, taking place on Tuesday October 11th 2016, from 5-8pm at Eastern Bloc.

Labsessions aim to support emerging artists working in digital arts, and to give them the opportunity to showcase the work they do. Those events are also a networking place for artists, digital art organizations attendees and for various cultural workers.

Three projects will be selected and each artist will be invited to do a short presentation (or demo) in front of those attending the event. Following the presentations and question periods, the partner organizations will provide constructive criticism through written commentaries and suggestions which will be sent to the artist later on.

In addition to the Labsessions, partner organizations might offer assistance to their sole discretion; which can take different forms depending on their respective mandate and resources (equipment loan, access to media labs, technical support, consultation or mentorship, access to an activity or a festival, etc.).

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

  • You must be a Canadian emerging artist working in the field of digital art;
  • Having an innovative project in progress;
  • Only one project by edition;
  • Meeting the deadline with an application form fully completed (PDFor Word);
  • Selected applicants should be ready to present their project to an audience for 15 minutes in English or French (pictures highly recommended).


ASSESSMENT CRITERIA

  • Artistic quality and originality
  • Ability to realize the project
  • Possibility of dissemination and impact
  • Application quality 

Please send your application at info@cqam.org
Application Deadline: Tuesday, September 6th, 2016

The jury is composed of media arts organizations’ representatives. Only applicants whose projects are selected will be contacted. Travel expenses will not be covered.

INFO & CONTACTS
Joseph Lefèvre
Director, Art Residencies and Creation (SAT)
514 844.2033 # 214
Labsessions@sat.qc.ca
Marilyne Parent
Communication Director (CQAM)
514 527-5116
info@cqam.org
PARTNERS
Partners

25 août 2016
Labsessions

 

Appel de projets
Date limite : mardi 6 septembre 2016


PRÉSENTATION DE PROJETS EN DÉVELOPPEMENT
POUR LES ARTISTES ÉMERGENTS EN ARTS NUMÉRIQUES


Initiées par par la Société des arts technologiques (SAT), en collaboration avec le Conseil québécois des arts médiatiques (CQAM), l’Agence TOPO,Eastern Bloc, ELEKTRA – BIAN, le Labo NT2, OBORO, PRIM, Studio XX etVidéographe, les rencontres Labsessions invitent la communauté des créateurs émergents en arts numériques à soumettre un projet en cours de développement dans le cadre de la onzième soirée qui se tiendra le mardi 11 octobre 2016 à 17 h chez
Eastern Bloc.

Les rencontres Labsessions visent à offrir une vitrine et un tremplin aux artistes émergents en arts numériques. Les soirées sont aussi un lieu d’échanges et de rencontres pour les artistes, intervenants et organismes du milieu.

Trois projets seront sélectionnés et chaque artiste, dont le projet est retenu, sera invité à faire une courte présentation (ou démo) lors de la soirée Labsessions devant un panel de représentants de centres d’artistes. Suite à ces présentations et dans un esprit critique constructif, ceux-ci émettront des commentaires ou des recommandations qui lui seront remis ultérieurement par écrit.

À leur discrétion, les organismes partenaires pourraient offrir en complément au Labsessions, un support pouvant varier en fonction de leur mandat et des ressources disponibles (prêt de matériel spécialisé, accès aux laboratoires, support technique, consultation ou mentorat, accès à une activité ou à un festival, etc.).

POUR PARTICIPER

  • Être un artiste émergent canadien en arts numériques ;
  • Avoir un projet novateur en cours de développement ;
  • Ne soumettre qu’un projet par édition ;
  • Remplir le formulaire (PDF dynamique ou Word) et le retourner en respectant la date limite;
  • Si sélectionné, être disponible pour présenter en personne son projet devant un public et préparer une présentation de 15 minutes (avec des images si possible) en français ou en anglais.


CRITÈRES D’ÉVALUATION DES DOSSIERS

  • Qualité artistique et originalité
  • Capacité de l’artiste à réaliser le projet
  • Possibilité de diffusion et retombées
  • Qualité du dossier

Faites parvenir votre dossier de candidature par courriel à l’adresse suivante : info@cqam.org
Date limite d’envoi : mardi 6 septembre 2016

Un jury formé de représentants des différents organismes partenaires fera une sélection en vue de la rencontre. Seuls les candidats(es) retenus(es) seront contactés(es). Veuillez noter que les frais de déplacement ne sont pas couverts.

 

INFO ET CONTACTS
Joseph Lefèvre
Directeur création et résidences (SAT)
514 844.2033 poste 214
Labsessions@sat.qc.ca
Marilyne Parent
Directrice des communications (CQAM)
514 527-5116
info@cqam.org
PARTENAIRES
Partenaires