TOPO
Laboratory for Digital Writings

The Montreal artist-run centre TOPO is a laboratory for digital writings and creations for web, performance, and installation spaces. Its mandate is to incubate, produce, and circulate original multimedia artworks that explore interdisciplinary and intercultural hybridizations through the digital arts.

TOPO’s creative, circulation, training, and mediation activities contribute to the development of its disciplinary field, at the crossroads of the visual arts, literature, and digital media. The centre guides, supports, and produces interactive projects, receives artists in residence, and offers specialized workshops. Its dissemination component explores innovative modes of presentation for digital artworks through exhibitions, performances, publications, and circulation on the web and in local, national, and international networks.

A member of the Pied Carré group, the centre occupies a multifunctional production space open to the community and has an exhibition showcase on the ground floor of the Pôle de Gaspé, in the Mile-End neighbourhood of Montreal.

History

TOPO was founded in Montreal on 1993. The centre grew out of the will of its founding members to develop a structure for the organization of collective and multidisciplinary projects that integrate the disciplines of photography and literature.

With the development of digital technologies, TOPO’s mandate has naturally grown to occupy the Web as a territory of creation and dissemination. In 1998, TOPO co-produced “Liquidation, a web-audio fiction” and started its Web activity. From that point on, the organization became active in an ongoing manner in the media arts sector. Since then, TOPO has created and produced Web art projects, most of them collective, with more than one hundred artists from the fields of visual and media arts, theatre, audio, and literature.

While aiming to produce more original content for the Web, TOPO is also interested in presenting and distributing independent multimedia artworks on the Web and on disks (CD, DVD-ROM, and video). In 2001, the centre launched the “Electronic Showcase” as a space for the promotion and presentation of artistic and experimental multimedia works. In 2005, TOPO began to disseminate its Web works through publication, exhibition, and performance activities. In 2007, in partnership with Laboratoire NT2 of the Université du Québec à Montréal, TOPO initiated the “Sortir de l’écran/Spoken Screen” series, which presents media works with a performative dimension. Finally, in 2013, the organization published a major book on .(La Société de Conservation du Présent), a Quebec collective that prefigured the use of electronic networks and computer programming for art and was active from 1985 to 1994.

In Québec, TOPO is a pioneer in the field of interactive fiction and has served as an incubator for a number of visual artists, performers, and writers who want to experiment with the Web and interactive devices. TOPO occupies a unique niche in the digital arts network, distinguishing itself, notably, for its exploration of new forms of narrativity.

In spring 2014, TOPO relocated into the Pôle de Gaspé and took advantage of the move to open a new exhibition space on the ground floor, the Vitrine, where it presents media installations on a regular basis.

The Conseil des arts de Montréal recognizes the excellence of the center by naming it a finalist in digital arts for its 2015 Grand Prix.

TOPO is actively involved in its community, and the years to come offer both promise and challenges.

TOPO
Laboratoire d’écritures numériques

Le centre d’artistes montréalais TOPO est un laboratoire d’écritures et de créations numériques pour les espaces du web, de la performance et de l’installation. Son mandat est d’incuber, de produire et de diffuser des œuvres multimédias originales qui explorent les croisements interdisciplinaires et interculturels à travers les arts numériques.

Ses activités de création, de diffusion, de formation et de médiation contribuent au développement de son champ disciplinaire, au carrefour des arts visuels, de la littérature et des médias numériques. Le centre accompagne, soutient et réalise des projets interactifs, accueille des artistes en résidence et offre des ateliers spécialisés. Son volet de diffusion explore des modes de présentation novateurs pour les œuvres numériques à travers des activités d’exposition, de performance, de publication et de circulation, sur le web et dans les réseaux locaux, nationaux et internationaux.

Membre du regroupement Pied Carré, le centre occupe un espace de production multifonctionnel ouvert à la communauté et une vitrine d’exposition située au rez-de-chaussée du Pôle de Gaspé, dans le quartier Mile-End, à Montréal.

 

Historique

Fondé à Montréal en 1993, TOPO est né de la volonté de ses membres fondateurs de se doter d’une structure permettant l’organisation de projets collectifs et multidisciplinaires intégrant à la base les disciplines de la photographie et de la littérature.

Avec le développement des technologies numériques, le mandat de l’organisme s’est étendu pour occuper l’Internet comme territoire de création et de diffusion. En 1998, TOPO coproduit « Liquidation, une fiction web audio » et débute son activité sur le web. L’organisme devient alors actif de façon continue dans le secteur des arts numériques en produisant des projets d’art web, pour la plupart collectifs, auxquels ont contribué plus d’une centaine d’artistes issus des arts visuels et médiatiques, du théâtre, de l’audio et de la littérature.

Tout en cherchant à accroître la production de contenu d’auteur, TOPO s’intéresse à la diffusion et distribution d’œuvres de fiction interactive sur le web et sur support (CD/DVD-Rom et vidéo). En 2001, l’organisme inaugure une Vitrine électronique qui présente une soixantaine de titres multimédias. À partir de 2005, TOPO commence à diffuser ses œuvres web avec des volets de publication, d’installation ou de performance. En partenariat avec NT2, le Laboratoire de recherche sur les oeuvres hypermédiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, TOPO inaugure, en 2007, la série Sortir de l’écran / Spoken Screen qui présente des œuvres médiatiques avec une dimension performative. En 2013, l’organisme édite une importante publication sur «.(La Société de Conservation du Présent)», un collectif québécois précurseur des réseaux électroniques et de la programmation informatique, actif entre 1985 et 1994.

Au printemps 2014, TOPO est relocalisé dans le Pôle de Gaspé et profite de ce déménagement pour ouvrir un nouvel espace d’exposition au rez-de-chaussée, la Vitrine, permettant la présentation d’installations médiatiques.

Le Conseil des arts de Montréal reconnaît l’excellence du centre en le nommant finaliste en arts numériques de son Grand Prix 2015.

TOPO s’investit activement dans sa communauté et les années à venir sont prometteuses et pleines de défis.