ULO

Conversation with Falling Spheres

To inaugurate this new decade, TOPO is hosting from January 16 to February 15, 2020, the tactile, auditory and contemplative installation Conversation with Falling Spheres, by the artist ULO, displaying two interactive sound instruments in its showcase (the Vitrine) located on the ground floor of the 5445 de Gaspé Avenue building. The exhibited work offers an immersive experience as the public is invited to enter the space in order to explore the symbolic relationship between the plurality of indigenous voices and the cohesion of sound harmonies.

The two circular interactive platforms provide an immersive sonic experience when tactile sensors are activated. The multi-sensory installation combines typical elements of a campfire — stones and wood — a sympolic space for sharing knowledge and rites. One circle transmits vocal sustained notes, creating a set of rich and dense harmonies, and the other one responds with vegetal organic granulated tones. Inspired by nature and its symbolic representations of spheres in culture, this interactive sound installation embodies the vibrations of life and the unification of voices, a dialogue between human and earth, a reflection around a “deconstructed” fire.

Conversation with Falling Spheres is part of the first thematic cycle in TOPO's 2019-2021 program, which interrogates the notion of  Frontier. "Cultures, Languages, Spiritualities: Beyond Borders" brings together three artists from the plurality of the Americas who explore the reconquest of roots and legacies through questions about memory and death.

The showcase doors will be open from Monday to Thursday and on Saturdays from 10am to 5pm.

Exhibition Petit plus
The Showcase is located on the ground floor of 5445, de Gaspé, in Montreal.

From January 16th to February 15th

Opening Petit plus
Join us on the 6th floor of 5445 de Gaspé, room 608, for the opening. Visits to the showcase are organized throughout the evening!

Friday January 16th, 5:30 PM

ULO (Iris Godbout) is a multidisciplinary artist (music, singing, visual and multimedia arts) from Canada. She holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts and Music degree from Concordia University. After studying visual arts and music, more specifically singing, for several years, her artistic approach converged towards these two practices. She first invested the stage, then the composing studio, and most recently visual and digital arts.

Influenced by her background in music, more specifically in world music, the artist explores the parallel and complementarity of organic materials with digital elements. Over the past few years, she has invested in digital arts and created Holodio, an ambient and narrative sound station including a mobile application aimed at awakening the senses and imagination of the listeners. More recently, she has integrated electronic notions into her approach and created tactile sound installations inspired by organic elements. Investing abstract and symbolic minimalist structures, her practice combines mysticism, indigenous art, natural elements, minimalism, technological art and electroacoustic sounds.

Event Details

ULO

Conversation with Falling Spheres

Pour inaugurer la nouvelle décennie, TOPO accueille du 16 janvier au 15 février 2020 l'installation tactile, auditive et contemplative Conversation with Falling Spheres, de l'artiste ULO, mettant en scène deux instruments sonores interactifs dans sa vitrine d'exposition au rez-de-chaussée du 5445, avenue de Gaspé. Cette exposition propose une expérience immersive, le public étant invité à entrer dans l'espace de la Vitrine afin d’explorer la relation symbolique entre la pluralité des voix autochtones et la cohésion des harmonies sonores.

Deux plateformes circulaires émettent lorsqu’on les effleure des harmonies sonores s’unissant les unes aux autres. Deux œuvres circulaires allient les éléments typiques d’un feu de camp – la pierre et le bois – symbole de partage de connaissances et de rites. L’une émet des notes vocales soutenues, inspirées des gammes pentatoniques mineures amérindiennes, créant un ensemble d’harmonies riches et denses qui forment un tout. L’autre répond par des tonalités organiques naturelles et végétales. Inspirée par la nature et ses représentations mystiques dans la culture et par la symbolique du tambour et des sphères dans la culture, cette installation sonore interactive incarne les vibrations de la vie et l'unification des voix, un dialogue entre l’homme et la terre, une réflexion autour d’un feu « déconstruit ».

Conversation with Falling Spheres s'inscrit dans le premier cycle thématique de la programmation Frontière, proposée par TOPO pour 2019-2021. « Cultures, langages, spiritualités: au-delà des frontières » réunit trois artistes issus de la pluralité des Amériques qui explorent la reconquête des racines et des héritages, à travers des questionnements sur la mémoire et la mort.

En savoir plus sur la thématique Frontière

Les portes de la vitrine seront ouvertes du lundi au samedi, de 10h à 17h.

Exposition Petit plus
La Vitrine d'exposition est située au rez-de-chaussée du 5445, de Gaspé, à Montréal.

Du 16 janvier au 15 février 2020

Vernissage Petit plus
Rejoignez-nous au 6e étage du 5445 de Gaspé, au local 608, pour le vernissage. Des visites de la vitrine sont organisées tout au long de la soirée !

Jeudi 16 janvier, 17h30

logo Facebook
logo Instagram
ULO (Iris Godbout) est une artiste multidisciplinaire (musique, chant, arts visuels et multimédias) originaire du Canada. Elle détient un baccalauréat en beaux-arts et musique de l’université Concordia. Ayant étudié pendant plusieurs années les arts visuels et la musique, plus précisément le chant, sa démarche artistique a convergé vers ces deux pratiques. C'est d'abord la scène qu'elle aura investi, puis la composition en studio pour ensuite s'intéresser au domaine des arts visuels et numériques.

Influencée par son parcours en musique, plus spécifiquement en musiques du monde, l’artiste explore la mise en parallèle et la complémentarité de matières organiques avec des éléments numériques. Au cours des dernières années, elle a investi les arts numériques et créé notamment Holodio, une station sonore ambiante et narrative incluant une application mobile visant à éveiller les sens et l'imaginaire de ses auditeurs.

Plus récemment, elle a intégré des notions d’électronique dans sa démarche et créé des installations sonores tactiles inspirées d’éléments organiques. Investissant les structures minimalistes abstraites et symboliques, sa pratique allie le mysticisme, l’art autochtone, les éléments naturels, le minimalisme, l’art technologique et les sons électroacoustiques.

Détails de l'événement