PAT BADANI AT ART SOUTERRAIN.

Pat Badani, Chicago-based artist, just ends a two-month residence at Agence TOPO where she developed her interactive installation make-A-move that is presented at the event Art Souterrain, February 28 – March 15, 2015. http://artsouterrain.com/fr/accueil

 

01-Main-view

make-A-move is an interactive, video installation composed of two encased screens conceived for exhibition in public space. Two animated portraits – a female and a male – react to the movements of passersby and express passivity, suspicion, surprise, or fear. make-A-move invites members of the public to a game of cause and effect. The artist playfully engages questions about mutual scrutiny and also points to the psychological, personal and collective cost of electronic surveillance mechanisms that track our data and traffic. make-A-move was conceived and developed by Pat Badani during a residency at Agence TOPO, Montreal, with the support of Patrice Coulombe and Paul Gascou-Vaillancourt.

Based in Chicago, Pat Badani is an internationally recognized artist who specializes in interdisciplinary artistic creation and interactive digital practice. Recipient of numerous grants and awards, she is also active as critical researcher, educator, editor and curator. Her practice is both conceptual and contextual and has been the subject of numerous critical essays in museum catalogs; anthologies; and journals of artistic research, science and new technologies.


Event Details

  • Date:

PAT BADANI EXPOSE À ART SOUTERRAIN.

Pat Badani, artiste canadienne basée à Chicago, termine une résidence de deux mois à l’Agence TOPO où elle a développée son installation interactive, make-A-move, présentée dans le cadre de l’événement Art Souterrain, du 28 février au 15 mars 2015. http://artsouterrain.com/fr/accueil

make-A-move est une installation vidéo interactive de deux écrans installée dans l’espace public. Elle présente deux portraits animés, d’un homme et d’une femme, qui réagissent au mouvement des personnes circulant devant eux en exprimant passivité, méfiance, surprise ou peur. make-A-move invite ainsi les passants à s’engager dans un jeu de cause à effet. Avec cette œuvre, l’artiste aborde de façon ludique les questions de surveillance mutuelle, mais aussi le coût personnel, collectif et psychologique des mécanismes de surveillance électronique qui suivent nos données et nos traces. L’installation make-A-move a été conçue et développée par Pat Badani en résidence à l’Agence TOPO, Montréal, avec le soutien de Patrice Coulombe et Paul Gascou-Vaillancourt.

01-Main-view

 

Pat Badani, lauréate de nombreuses bourses et distinctions, est une artiste internationale reconnue basée à Chicago. Spécialisée dans la création artistique interdisciplinaire et la pratique numérique interactive, elle est aussi chercheuse, professeure, éditrice et commissaire. Sa pratique à la fois conceptuelle et contextuelle a fait l’objet d’anthologies, d’essais critiques dans des catalogues de musées et de publications dans des revues sur les arts visuels, les sciences et les nouvelles technologies. http://www.patbadani.net


Détails de l'événement

  • Date: