Rob Feulner, Sam Meech

Unstable Intermediated Forms

Beginning November 11, 2021, TOPO announces a new exhibition in the showcase with a media proposal by artists Rob Feulner and Sam Meech, Unstable Intermediated Forms. The artists suggest a series of generative video feedback and analog glitch works exploring fluid dynamics, pattern generation and interactivity. The installation connects a variety of “fragile” interdependent devices to generate new forms and interpretations beyond their control. Real-time video processing, misuse of technology, and exploitation of technical limitations are core to Rob Feulner and Sam Meech's approach.

This installation includes video and interactive works previously exhibited by each artist alongside nascent video feedback experiments. The artists use non-linear systems that fluctuate between chaos and order, rendering video artifacts, sometimes giving them natural movements, such as the oscillation of the water. The artists’ original body of work are here entangled through intermediated systems that influence and affect one another, constantly shaping and shaped by the environment.

The multi-channel device presented in TOPO's showcase stands in opposition to the notion of "stable intermediated forms," which refers to works that develop through iteration, that is, through programming processes that combine an element of experimentation and robust outcomes and mitigating risks in the progression towards an ideal. Several of Feulner and Meech's earlier works conform to this notion: crystallised forms born out of experimentation, but ultimately locked down as fixed media processes for exhibitions.

In this exhibition, by offering instead unstable and intermediated forms, Feulner and Meech seek to extend the potential for failure. The exploratory interconnection of technological devices to generate unpredictable results multiplies the possibilities of happy accidents or new harmonies. This remix can produce new dynamics and generate new patterns of co-operative behavior.

The artists use a combination of analog processing, live camera inputs, digital projection and interactive design (using Isadora software). A set of LED lights is also programmed to react with the works in the space.

Re-staging digital art is often challenging, and in this case the intention is to reverse engineer the artists' original works to hack them together. The artists know that some elements of the installation will not work as intended, but that doesn't mean they are not "working." They will certainly have to go on site during the exhibition to adjust settings, camera feedback angles, replace faulty television sets or work around software bugs. In the end, distortions don't matter, dead leaves make great compost and spare parts build machines.

As the video feeds influence each other in their very form, Feulner and Meech's artistic collaboration affects one another. Their collaboration impacts both their aesthetics and production. Unstable Intermediated Forms encourages them to step outside the bubble and expand their field of exploration.

Exhibition in showcase

November 11 – December 18 2021

monday to saturday, 10am @19pm

Facebook Event

On rentrera dans une autre ère d’Internet, parce que le changement des interfaces fait que les utilisateurs n’auront plus d’accès direct au monde virtuel, puisque tout sera intermédié

Guillaume Ledit, «Tout le foisonnement que permet Internet pourrait avoir disparu dans 15 ans»,
dans Usbek & Rica, 28 juillet 2017
Source

Rob Feulner

Rob Feulner (b. 1987, Montreal, CA) is a video artist hailing from Montréal, Québec. Armed with a stack of VCRs, circuit-bent equipment, and a disregard for electrical shocks, Rob Feulner dives wrist-deep into open machinery, creating a landscape of video tracking errors and glitches used to confront modern political malaise. His work has appeared in the Indianapolis Museum of Art, has been broadcasted by The Cartoon Network, and performed alongside MacArthur Fellowship prize winner Anne Carson. His most recent piece, the 17-minute experimental short film Cable Box, premiered at the Festival ECRÃ (Brazil) in July 2021.

robfeulner.com

@bleunuitvideo

Sam Meech

Sam Meech (b. 1981, Huddersfield, UK ) is a digital artist with analogue tendencies whose practice includes interactive installation, projection design, and machine knitting. He is interested in hybrid design processes and the possibilities of combining both digital and analogue systems in production and performance. He aims to form new connections between existing and emerging technologies through playful works that emphasise texture, pattern, recursion and translation. He has machine-knitted stop motion animations of pixel art horses, generated poetry from old video titlers, and cast toy train sets in concrete to form apocalyptic projection mapping installations.

His recent practice has researched the integration of optical video feedback systems within interactive digital video installations - an approach outlined in his Master of Arts by Research thesis ‘Video in the Abyss: In the context of the digital, is video feedback still useful as an approach to making art?’. Two of the resulting works (‘Chroma Culture’ and ‘Portals’) toured libraries in the UK, and were shortlisted for the 2019 Lumen Prize for Art and Technology, whilst ‘Chroma Culture’ also won the ‘ALIFE Inspired Art’ award at ALIFE 2020. Both works have been adapted and deconstructed as part of this show.

He also enjoys working with the public to develop projects that enable people to be hands on with technology and creative processes. He has previously developed commissions for Mutek, ONF, Quartier des Spectacles and Maison de la Culture Maisonneuve, as well as many galleries, museums and public institutions in the UK. He is now based in Montreal, and teaches on the Intermedia course at Concordia University.

portfolio.smeech.co.uk

@videosmithery


Event Details

  • Date:
  • Venue: TOPO

Rob Feulner, Sam Meech

Unstable Intermediated Forms

[Formes instables intermédiées]

Dès le 11 novembre 2021, TOPO annoncait une nouvelle exposition en vitrine avec une proposition médiatique des artistes Rob Feulner et Sam Meech, Unstable Intermediated Forms [Formes instables intermédiées]. Les artistes ont proposé une série d'œuvres génératives de rétroaction vidéo (feedback) et de distorsion analogique qui exploraient la dynamique des fluides, la génération de motifs et l'interactivité. L'installation connectait une diversité d'appareils interdépendants afin de générer de nouvelles formes et interprétations échappant à leur contrôle. Le traitement de la vidéo en temps réel, le détournement de la technologie et l'exploitation des limites techniques sont au cœur de la démarche de Rob Feulner et Sam Meech.

Cette installation comprend des œuvres vidéo et interactives déjà exposées par les artistes ainsi que le résultat d'expériences récentes de rétroaction vidéo. Les artistes utilisent des systèmes non linéaires qui génèrent de l'ordre et du chaos, transformant les artefacts vidéo en leur donnant parfois des mouvements naturels, comme l'oscillation de l'eau. Les œuvres du corpus original des artistes sont ici enchevêtrées à travers des systèmes intermédiés qui s'influencent mutuellement, chaque œuvre étant affectée et médiatisée par les autres, façonnant et modelant constamment l'installation.

Le dispositif multicanal présenté dans la vitrine de TOPO s'inscrit en opposition à la notion de « formes intermédiées stables » qui réfère à des œuvres qui se développent par itération, c'est-à-dire par des processus de programmation qui combinent une part d'expérimentation et de résultats prévisibles en vue d'atteindre un objectif artistique défini. Plusieurs œuvres réalisées précédemment par Feulner et Meech se conforment à cette notion. Elles sont nées de l'expérimentation, mais finalement cristallisées dans un processus médiatique figé pour des expositions.

Dans cette exposition, en proposant plutôt des formes instables et intermédiées, Feulner et Meech cherchent à étendre le potentiel d'échec. L'interconnexion exploratoire d'appareils technologiques pour générer des résultats imprévisibles multiplie les possibilités de heurts ou d'harmonies nouvelles. Ce remix peut créer de nouvelles dynamiques et générer de nouveaux modèles de comportement coopératif.

Les artistes utilisent une combinaison de traitement analogique, de saisie par caméra en direct, de projection numérique et de conception interactive (à l'aide du logiciel Isadora). Un set de lumières DEL est aussi programmé pour réagir avec les œuvres dans l'espace.

La remise en scène de l'art numérique s'avère souvent difficile et, dans ce cas, l'intention est d'inverser l'ingénierie des œuvres originales des artistes afin de les pirater ensemble. Les artistes savent que certains éléments de l'installation ne fonctionneront pas comme prévu, mais cela ne signifie pas qu'ils ne « fonctionnent » pas. Ils devront certainement se rendre sur place durant l'exposition pour ajuster des paramètres, les angles de retour des caméras, remplacer des téléviseurs défectueux ou contourner des bogues logiciels. Au final, les distorsions importent peu, les feuilles mortes font un excellent compost et les pièces détachées construisent des machines.

Comme les flux vidéo s'influencent mutuellement dans leur forme même, la collaboration artistique de Feulner et Meech se contamine réciproquement. Leur collaboration influe à la fois sur leur esthétique et leur mode de production. Unstable Intermediated Forms les incite à sortir des acquis pour élargir leur champ d'exploration.

Exposition en vitrine

11 novembre – 18 décembre 2021

lundi au samedi, 10 h à 19 h

Événement Facebook

On rentrera dans une autre ère d’Internet, parce que le changement des interfaces fait que les utilisateurs n’auront plus d’accès direct au monde virtuel, puisque tout sera intermédié

Guillaume Ledit, «Tout le foisonnement que permet Internet pourrait avoir disparu dans 15 ans»,
dans Usbek & Rica, 28 juillet 2017
Source

Rob Feulner

Né en 1987, Rob Feulner est un artiste vidéo originaire de Montréal, au Québec. Armé d'une pile de magnétoscopes et d'équipements trafiquées, indifférent aux chocs électriques, Rob Feulner plonge ses mains au cœur des machines, générant des kilomètres de signal vidéo parasite et de distorsions qu'il combine pour confronter les malaises de la politique actuelle. Son travail a été exposé au musée d'art d'Indianapolis, diffusé par The Cartoon Network et présenté aux côtés d'Anne Carson, lauréate de la bourse MacArthur. Son œuvre la plus récente, le court-métrage expérimental de 17 minutes Cable Box, était présenté en première au Festival ECRÃ (Brésil) en juillet 2021.

robfeulner.com

@bleunuitvideo

Sam Meech

Né en 1981 à Huddersfield, au Royaume-Uni, Sam Meech est un artiste numérique porté sur l'analogique, dont la pratique englobe l'installation interactive, la projection et le bidouillage machine. Il s'intéresse aux processus hybrides combinant le numérique et l'analogique dans sa création et en performance, par le biais d'œuvres ludiques qui jouent sur la texture, le motif, la récursivité et la translation. Il pratique l'art du pixel, il a tricoté à la machine des animations de chevaux en stop motion, généré de la poésie à partir de vieux titres vidéo et coulé des trains miniatures dans du béton pour créer des projections de mapping apocalyptiques.

Dans sa pratique récente, il explore la rétroaction vidéo optique dans des installations numériques interactives - une approche décrite dans son mémoire de maîtrise en arts création intitulé « Video in the Abyss : In the context of the digital, is video feedback still useful as an approach to making art ». Deux œuvres qui en résultent, Chroma Culture et Portals, ont été diffusées largement au Royaume-Uni et sélectionnées pour le prix Lumen 2019 pour l'art et la technologie. Chroma Culture a également remporté le prix ALIFE Inspired Art au festival ALIFE 2020. Les deux œuvres ont été adaptées et déconstruites dans le cadre de cette exposition.

Il aime collaborer avec le public pour développer des projets qui permettent aux gens de s'impliquer dans la technologie et les processus créatifs. Il a créé des œuvres pour Mutek, l'ONF, le Quartier des Spectacles et la Maison de la Culture Maisonneuve, ainsi que pour de nombreuses galeries, des musées et institutions publiques au Royaume-Uni. Maintenant établi à Montréal, il enseigne le cours Intermedia à l'Université Concordia.

portfolio.smeech.co.uk

@videosmithery

Retour en images


Détails de l'événement

  • Date:
  • Lieu: TOPO