Martín Rodriguez

La Ofrenda

As of November 1st, 2019, the installation La Ofrenda by artist Martín Rodríguez opens the next programming cycle of TOPO's Showcase under the theme of Frontier, which will run until 2021. The program includes exhibitions in the ground floor showcase of the Pôle de Gaspé, workshops, performances, projections and artist presentations.

The first cycle, « Cultures, Languages, Spiritualities: Beyond Borders », brings together three artists from the plurality of the Americas who explore the reconquest of roots and legacies, through questions about memory and death.

Find out more about Frontier programming and thematic cycles

La Ofrenda, (The Offering) is an installation inspired by the artist’s experience of being in remission from a brain tumor and asks how do we find hope when greeting death. This installation expresses these sentiments by exploring the wonder found in the specter of death through the transformation of the sounds and images of the artist’s Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) into an enchanted audiovisual altar. This work finds inspiration in the altars found in the homes and businesses of Mexicans during the Dia de Muertos, a time of the year where one is able to communicate with the souls of the departed.

The fog of chemo and numbness of radiation. The brain surgery. Paralysis. The seizure that exposed it all. The sterile sounds of the hospital. One must find a way to survive.

This sonic offering is created by harnessing the sounds of the artist's MRI through transducers attached to the strings and the body of the guitar. The result is a blend of musical notes, machine noise, and radio frequencies. In turn these sounds control video images of his MRI, installed inside an old tube radio. This work vicariously explores the artist's mortality in an effort to reconcile his understanding of impermanence.

Exhibition Petit plus
The Showcase is located on the ground floor of 5445, de Gaspé, in Montreal.

From November 1st to December 21st

Opening Petit plus
Join us on the 6th floor of 5445 de Gaspé, room 608, for the opening. Visits to the showcase are organized throughout the evening!

November 1st

Note
On Saturday, December 7, the artist will offer a workshop for sound experimentation with radio frequencies.
Using unconventional performance techniques, Martín Rodríguez explores resonance in combination with transducers and his electric guitar to expose the rhythms, harmonies, and melodies that are found in the cracks of the radio spectrum, creating emotive soundscapes which are living, listening, and engaging in the present.

As the son of a Mexican immigrant and Polish-American, identity has always played a central role to Rodriguez's artistic explorations. Projects such as Open La Puerta (2013) explore fragmented memories of his heritage; and after a surgery from a brain tumor left him temporarily paralyzed, Rodríguez began exploring new ways to play his guitar as a copping mechanism that led to Radio Therapy (2015). In June of 2019, he was featured in a group show entitled "Los Subrogados" simultaneously presented by the The Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo in Mexico City, The Musée d'Art Contemporain à Montréal, and The Darling Foundry.

In addition to producing his own work Rodriguez has recorded 2 EPs with the microtonal psychedelic synth collective Chienvoler as well as explored free electronic hardware improvisation with his duo Data Slum. From 2014 to 2018, Rodriguez worked as Technical Director, Lab Director, and Co-director of Eastern Bloc, an artist run centre dedicated to presenting emerging media artists in Montréal, Canada.

Event Details

  • Date:
  • Venue: TOPO

Martín Rodriguez

La Ofrenda

Dès le 1er novembre 2019, l'installation La Ofrenda de l'artiste Martín Rodríguez inaugure le prochain cycle de programmation de la Vitrine de TOPO sous la thématique de Frontière, qui s'étendra jusqu'en 2021. La programmation prévoit des expositions dans la Vitrine du rez-de-chaussée du Pôle de Gaspé, des ateliers, des performances, des projections et des présentations d’artistes.

Le premier cycle, Cultures, langages, spiritualités : au-delà des frontières, réunit trois artistes issus de la pluralité des Amériques qui explorent la reconquête des racines et des héritages, à travers des questionnements sur la mémoire et la mort.

En savoir plus sur la programmation Frontière et les cycles thématiques

La Ofrenda (L'Offrande) est une installation inspirée de l'expérience de l'artiste, en rémission d'une tumeur au cerveau, qui s'interroge sur les raisons d'espérer quand on fait face à la mort. Cette installation exprime ces sentiments en explorant l'émerveillement du spectre de la mort à travers la transformation des sons et des images de résonance magnétique (IRM) du cerveau de l'artiste en un autel audiovisuel enchanté. Cette œuvre s'inspire des autels que l'on trouve dans les maisons et commerces au Mexique pendant le Jour des Morts, un moment de l'année où l'on peut communiquer avec les âmes de ceux et celles qui sont partis.

The fog of chemo and numbness of radiation. The brain surgery. Paralysis. The seizure that exposed it all. The sterile sounds of the hospital. One must find a way to survive.

Cette offrande visuelle et sonore exploite les sons de l'IRM de l'artiste à travers des transducteurs attachés aux cordes et au corps de la guitare. Le résultat forme un mélange de notes musicales, de bruits de machines et de fréquences radio. Ces sons contrôlent à leur tour les images vidéo de l'IRM, installée à l'intérieur d'une antique radio à lampes. Avec cette œuvre, l'artiste explore indirectement sa propre mortalité dans une tentative de réconcilier sa compréhension de l'impermanence.

Exposition Petit plus
La Vitrine d'exposition est située au rez-de-chaussée du 5445, de Gaspé, à Montréal.

Du 1er novembre au 21 décembre

Vernissage Petit plus
Rejoignez-nous au 6e étage du 5445 de Gaspé, au local 608, pour le vernissage. Des visites de la vitrine sont organisées tout au long de la soireé !

1er novembre

À noter
Le samedi 7 décembre, l’artiste offrira un atelier d’expérimentation sonore des fréquences radio intitulé Roger Roger, do you copy ?... une introduction à l’art radio. Alliant compétences théoriques et pratiques, cet atelier vise à familiariser les participants avec l’idée de la radio comme instrument ou matériel et les invite à expérimenter avec des dispositifs de transmission et des récepteurs.
Au moyen de techniques d'interprétation non conventionnelles, Martín Rodríguez explore la résonance en combinaison avec des transducteurs et sa guitare électrique pour exposer les rythmes, les harmonies et les mélodies que l'on retrouve dans les fissures du spectre radio, créant des paysages sonores émotionnels qui sont vivants, attentifs et engagés dans le présent.

Fils d'un immigrant mexicain et d'un Américaine d'origine polonaise, l'identité a toujours joué un rôle central dans les explorations artistiques de Rodriguez. Des projets comme Open La Puerta (2013) explorent les souvenirs fragmentés de son passé. Après qu'une opération chirurgicale d'une tumeur au cerveau l'ait temporairement paralysé, Rodríguez a commencé à explorer de nouvelles façons de jouer de sa guitare comme mécanisme de défense, ce qui a mené à son oeuvre Radio Therapy (2015). En juin 2019, il a participé à une exposition collective intitulée Los Subrogados présentée simultanément par le Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo de Mexico, le Musée d'Art Contemporain à Montréal et la Fonderie Darling.

En plus de produire son propre travail, Rodriguez a enregistré deux démos de musique avec le collectif de synthétiseurs psychédéliques microtonaux Chienvoler ainsi qu'une improvisation électronique libre avec son duo Data Slum. De 2014 à 2018, Rodriguez a travaillé comme directeur technique, directeur de laboratoire et codirecteur de Eastern Bloc, un centre d'artistes dédié à la présentation d'artistes des médias émergents à Montréal.

Détails de l'événement

  • Date:
  • Lieu: TOPO