YOU

Emma-Kate Guimond

Performative installation
 

January 17 – February 23, 2019

Opening : January 24, 2019. 5 pm – 7 pm

Performances : January 19, 3 pm & February 15, 5 pm

 

 

TOPO’s showcase
5445, avenue de Gaspé, rez-de-chaussée, espace 107-B
Facebook event

 

 

From January 17 to February 23, 2019, TOPO’s Vitrine will showcase You, a performative installation by interdisciplinary artist Emma-Kate Guimond, who will use the space to address the viewer through live and video performance.

You is a short story that develops over the course of four acts. Exploring the Vitrine’s multidimensional and two-dimensional qualities, the artist combines photographic with virtual imagery and decor to render the space into a habitat for the protagonist.

As of January 17, Act 1 will exhibit an on-going staging of minimal decor. On January 19, Act 2 will entail the live video shoot of a movement-based performance. Then beginning January 22, Act 3 involves a much needed existential conversation with a virtual plant who acts as the protagonist’s confidante. To conclude the cycle, the artist will present Act 4 on February 15 at 5pm, a performance entitled The Thickness.

As explained by the artist, “You is a ballet (fiction+dance) about you – played by me. The script is written in the second person. You get up. You lay down. It’s efficient. Without metaphor, the scenario is only drive. You evolves through shifting tensions between dimension and flatness, there and not-there. We confide and crave, tongue-tied.” 

 

 

 

 

 [Acte 1] – As of Thursday January 17th
Begins in an empty room.

[Acte 2] – Saturday January 19th, 3 pm
A live video “dance” shoot. You get to watch.

[Acte 3] – Tuesday, January 22nd
A much needed existential conversation.

[Acte 4] – Friday, February 15th, 5 pm
A live performance : The Thickness

 

 A meeting with the artist will be held Thursday, January 24th at 5pm, in front of TOPO’s Vitrine,
5445 de Gaspé avenue, space 107-B, ground floor.

 

 

Emma-Kate Guimond

emmakateguimond.com

Emma-Kate Guimond is an Edmonton-born, Montreal-based artist. Moving nonchalantly between performance, video, and drawing, her approach is embodied. Her work examines different modes of performativity, ranging from unaware, to banal, to brutalist, to expressionistic, to spectacular and to dramatic. Emma-Kate Guimond has a BFA in Contemporary Dance (Concordia, 2012) and an MA in Visual and Media Arts (UQAM 2017). She has presented performances at Visualeyez Festival (Edmonton, 2013), Mountain Standard Time (Calgary, 2014, 2018), FADO Emerging artist series (Toronto, 2014), Performancy Forum (Brooklyn, 2015) as well as the RIPA (Montreal, 2016). From 2009-2017 she worked with the collective WIVES, with whom she presented Feeled at the OFFTA in 2016 and Action Movie at Théâtre La Chapelle in 2017. Most recently she presented Attabler at the Agora de la Danse, a collaboration with la Deuxième Porte à Gauche.


Event Details

  • Date:

YOU

Emma-Kate Guimond

Performance et installation

17 janvier – 23 février 2019

Vernissage : 24 janvier 2019, 17 h – 19 h

Performances : 19 janvier, 15 h et 15 février, 17 h

  

Vitrine de TOPO
5445, avenue de Gaspé, rez-de-chaussée, espace 107-B
Événement Facebook

 

Du 17 janvier au 23 février 2019, TOPO présente dans sa vitrine d’exposition l’installation performative You de l’artiste Emma-Kate Guimond, qui transformera la Vitrine en lieu d’installation, de tournage et de performance afin d’initier un dialogue inédit avec le public.

You se présente comme une courte histoire en quatre actes explorant la Vitrine à la fois comme espace tridimensionnel et bidimensionnel, dès lors qu’on restitue cet espace sous forme d’image, en vidéo, et qu’on l’habite avec un personnage et des éléments de décor virtuels.

L’Acte 1, dès le 17 janvier, exposera le décor minimal d’une mise en scène en devenir. L’Acte 2 prévu le samedi 19 février à 14 h, prévoit le tournage vidéo d’une performance, où l’artiste investira l’espace, sous le regard des visiteurs. Ensuite, une plante virtuelle servira au protagoniste de confidente avec qui s’engagera « une conversation existentielle fort nécessaire », comme le promet l’Acte 3, en vitrine dès le mardi 22 janvier. Et enfin, pour clore le cycle de You, l’artiste propose pour l’Acte 4 une performance intitulée The Thickness, le vendredi 15 février, à partir de 17 h.

Tel que l’explique l’artiste, « You est un ballet (fiction + danse) à propos de toi – joué par moi. Le scénario est écrit à la deuxième personne. Tu te lèves. Tu te couches. C’est efficace. Vidé de son sens métaphorique, le scénario n’est plus que pulsion – sans empathie. You évolue à travers les tensions amovibles entre dimension et planitude, entre présence et absence. »

 

 

[Acte 1] – dès le jeudi 17 janvier
Une pièce vide.

[Acte 2] – samedi 19 janvier à 15 h
Un tournage vidéo de danse en direct. Tu peux regarder.

[Acte 3] – dès le mardi 22 janvier
Une conversation existentielle fort nécessaire.

[Acte 4] – vendredi 15 février, à partir de 17 h
Une performance : The Thickness

 

Une rencontre/vernissage avec l’artiste est prévue le jeudi 24 janvier, dès 17 h, devant la Vitrine,
5445, avenue de Gaspé, espace 107-B, au rez-de-chaussée.

 

 

Emma-Kate Guimond

emmakateguimond.com

Emma-Kate Guimond est une artiste montréalaise, née à Edmonton. Sa pratique bascule nonchalamment entre performance, vidéo et dessin. Avec une approche incarnée, son travail examine différents modes de performativité, allant du non-conscient au banal en passant par le brutaliste, l’expressionniste, le spectaculaire et le dramatique. Emma-Kate Guimond est titulaire d’un BFA en danse contemporaine (Concordia, 2012) et d’une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques (UQAM 2017). Elle a présenté des performances au Visualeyez Festival (Edmonton, 2013), à Mountain Standard Time (Calgary, 2014, 2018), à FADO (Toronto, 2014), au Performancy Forum (Brooklyn, 2015) ainsi qu’au RIPA (Montréal, 2016). De 2009 à 2017, elle était codirectrice du collectif WIVES avec qui elle a présenté Feeled à l’OFFTA en 2016 et Action Movie au Théâtre La Chapelle en 2017. Elle a récemment présenté Attabler à l’Agora de la danse, une collaboration avec la Deuxième Porte à Gauche.

 


Détails de l'événement

  • Date: