Marion Schneider

Selfgen

Starting August 9th, TOPO launches a new season of its programming under the theme of fluidity with the generative work Selfgen by Quebec artist Marion Schneider (she/they). The work will be exhibited simultaneously on TOPO and Mutek websites for one month.

Selfgen evokes the idea of queer identity and self-representation through advanced artificial intelligence and machine learning processes. Working with a database of over 500 personal selfies accumulated on their cell phone, Marion Schneider teaches an artificial intelligence algorithm (GAN) to craft new images of themselves. By playing with the parameters of this learning process and the images provided, an infinite number of self-portraits are generated on demand, which by their abstraction are ambiguous and evoke fluidity and impermanence.

Online exhibit

August 9th – September 9th 2022

Simultaneously exhibited on TOPO and Mutek‘s websites

Marion Schneider

As a non-binary digital artist, Marion Schneider (she/they) has a degree in Visual and Media Arts from UQAM (Montréal) and Digital Design from l’École Nationale Supérieure Olivier De Serres (Paris). Obsessed with the sea, words and machines, they work with digital tools in a both poetic and political way. Schneider’s interdisciplinary practice focuses on sentimentalism as a philosophy and its interactions and subversions of popular understandings and uses of technology.
Rooted in hacktivist ideology, their work is often autonomous, permeable and functions in a loop, integrating data sharing and reuse. They are interested in themes from nature and virtuality, to gender, intimacy, distance and memory; their work considers the ways each of these subjects intersect.
Schneider has exhibited their work in several exhibitions in Montréal and Québec City, including at ICRA-X, Place des Arts, Art Mûr and Galerie de l'UQAM, among others.

schneidermarion.net

@_marionschneider


Event Details

  • Date:
  • Venue: En ligne

Marion Schneider

Selfgen

Dès le 9 août, TOPO lance une nouvelle saison de sa programmation sous le thème de la fluidité avec l'œuvre générative Selfgen de l'artiste québécoise Marion Schneider (elle/iel). L'œuvre sera exposée simultanément sur le site de TOPO et de Mutek pendant un mois, à l’occasion du pan virtuel du festival Mutek de 2022.

Selfgen évoque l’idée de l’identité queer et de la représentation de soi par le biais de processus avancés d’intelligence artificielle et d’apprentissage machine. En travaillant avec une base de données constituée de plus de 500 selfies personnels accumulés sur son téléphone cellulaire, Marion Schneider apprend à un algorithme d’intelligence artificielle (GAN) à fabriquer de nouvelles images d'iel-même. En manipulant les paramètres de l’apprentissage et des images fournies, une infinité d'autoportraits sont générés sur demande, qui par leur abstraction évoquent fluidité, impermanence et ambiguïté.

Exposition en ligne

9 août – 9 septembre 2022

Simultanément sur le site de TOPO et de Mutek

Marion Schneider

Artiste numérique non binaire, Marion Schneider (elle/iel) est diplômé.e en arts visuels et médiatiques à l‘UQAM (Montréal) et en Design numérique à l’École nationale supérieure Olivier de Serres (Paris). Obsédé.e par la mer, les mots et les machines, ses recherches artistiques se concentrent sur le potentiel poétique et engagé des outils numériques. Sa pratique interdisciplinaire s’intéresse au sentimentalisme et à son actualisation par le biais des technologies.
Ancré dans l'idéologie hacktiviste, son travail est souvent autonome, perméable et fonctionne en boucle, intégrant le partage et la réutilisation des données. Iel s'intéresse à des thèmes liés à la nature et la virtualité, en passant par le genre, l'intimité, la distance et la mémoire ; son travail explore les façons où chacun de ces sujets se croisent.
Schneider a partagé son travail lors de plusieurs expositions à Montréal et à Québec, notamment à ICRA-X, à la Place des Arts, à Art Mûr, et à la Galerie de l’UQAM. Iel a reçu la mention d’honneur de l’UQAM pour son baccalauréat, la bourse d’excellence de la fondation Mc Abbie et le prix Jean-Pitre et Claude Leclerc.

schneidermarion.net

@_marionschneider


Détails de l'événement

  • Date:
  • Lieu: En ligne