8 April 2019

 

 

About the artist…

Born in Los Angeles, Oli Sorenson has lived and worked in London (UK) between 1999 and 2010, to combine his artistic activities with curatorial work (including several events at Tate Britain, the Institute of Contemporary Art and the British Film Institute). Sorenson has often exhibited internationally, including at the Millennium Museum (Beijing), the Media Art Institute (Amsterdam), ZKM (Karlsruhe) and DokFest (Kassel). He performs regularly in media festivals such as ISEA (Helsinki and Nagoya), Mapping Festival (Geneva) and MAF (Bangkok). He is now based in Montreal, Canada since 2010.

As a remix artist, Sorenson defines his practice by subverting preconceptions of originality and singular authorship, an approach that is often delivered via media performance projects in festive and collaborative contexts. His explorations are fed particularly by a fascination for the overabundance of content and information available online, as much as a critique of the strict copyright rules imposed on mechanically and digitally reproducible media.

 

About the work…

The Pistoletto Video project is a continuation of my recent remix work, which involves borrowing the creative gesture of other artists to direct them towards materials and issues that have not yet been explored by these authors. Here I destroy LCD screens in the same way that Michelangelo Pistoletto breaks his big mirrors. I’m tackling technological materials to produce a multitude of performance artifacts, such as those broken LCD screen photos.

• Inkjet print. Archive quality paper acid free – Fuji Premium Matte 230g.  Format: 20×16 po. / 50×40 cm. Not framed.
• Flat rate of 150 $ CAN. Available at TOPO’s office without any other fee. If shipped, shipping and packaging costs will apply.

8 avril 2019

 

 

À propos de l’artiste…

Né à Los Angeles, Oli Sorenson a vécu et travaillé à Londres (UK) entre 1999 et 2010, où il a combiné ses activités artistiques avec des projets de commissariat. Sorenson a exposé notamment au Millennium Museum (Pékin), au Media Art Institute (Amsterdam), au ZKM (Karlsruhe) et au DokFest (Kassel). Il se produit régulièrement dans des festivals médiatiques tels que ISEA (Helsinki et Nagoya), Mapping Festival (Genève) et MAF (Bangkok). Il est maintenant basé à Montréal, Canada depuis 2010.

Sorenson définit sa pratique par la transgression des concepts d’originalité, une désobéissance de ces conventions qui s’est souvent prêtée à des projets de performance vidéo et sonore, présentés dans des contextes festifs. Cette excursion dans le domaine de la musique électronique a aussi informé ses projets en art contemporain, et a particulièrement nourrit sa fascination pour la surabondance de contenus culturels accessible en réseau. À l’inverse d’un fétichisme par la rareté, Sorenson expose ici une culture numérique valorisant l’abondance et l’ubiquité.

 

À propos de l’oeuvre…

Le projet Vidéo Pistoletto s’inscrit en continuité avec mon récent travail de remix, consistant à emprunter le geste créateur d’autres artistes pour le diriger vers des matériaux et des problématiques qui n’ont pas encore été explorées par ces auteurs. Ici je détruis des écrans de télévision à cristaux liquides (LCD) de la même manière que Michelangelo Pistoletto brise ses grands miroirs. Je m’attaque à des matériaux technologiques pour produire une multitude d’artefacts de performances, tels que ces photos d’écran LCD brisés.

• Impression au jet d’encre, papier archive sans acide Fuji Premium Matte 230 g.  Format: 20×16 po. / 50×40 cm. Non encadrée.

• Prix forfaitaire de 150 $ CAN. Disponible au bureau de TOPO sans autre frais. En cas d’expédition, des frais d’envoi et d’emballage s’appliqueront.